Review Editorially reviewed

Keeper Review

Worth it in 2026 when you will pay the published vault seat and budget SSO, dark web monitoring, and the SIEM feed as extras.

Independently researched. No pay-for-placement. 5 alternatives covered
TL;DR

Keeper is worth it in 2026 when a team will pay a published seat and budget SSO as its own tier. Business Starter is $2 per user per month billed annually for 5 to 10 users, and Business is $4 per user per month, verified in September 2026.

Enterprise, the tier with SAML single sign-on and SCIM, starts at $6 per user per month billed annually, and that tier is bought through a quote, so finance cannot self-serve the identity-provider seat. Keeper Unlimited for one person is $42.99 for the year. The seat price does not include BreachWatch or the reporting module a SIEM feed requires.

If the pilot has to start on a free vault with a published business seat near that Business rate, read the Bitwarden review before you standardize on Keeper.

Vault encryptionAES-256 on device
Personal trial30 days
Business Starter5 to 10 users
Enterprise with SSO$6/user/mo yearly

Keeper is the vault you price when the board wants a published per-user rate and a later path into privileged access, not only a shared folder.

The buying mistake is treating the Starter seat as the SSO seat. Single sign-on and SCIM sit on Enterprise, so a directory that already provisions joiners is a different purchase from the small-team vault.

Dark web monitoring and the alert module that feeds a SIEM sit on add-ons, including on that Enterprise tier, so the order you sign still leaves detection unbought.

Below are the personal plans, the three business seats, and the endpoint add-on, set beside 1Password, Bitwarden, Dashlane, Proton Pass, and NordPass.

The rest of the category is in our password manager comparison.

Toolradar data: the September 2026 password-manager ranking evaluated 37 products, and Keeper is on that list.

How we compared: on September 24, 2026 we read Keeper's US price catalog (USD, tax not included in the figure), the plan guide updated July 15, 2026, and the personal and business pricing pages.

That pass also covered 1Password's USD personal pricing, Bitwarden's business pricing, and Dashlane's pricing page.

Proton figures are the 12-month cycle in Proton's USD plan catalog. NordPass bills its business plans in USD and leaves VAT off the amount shown before you pay, and no vendor paid for inclusion in this review.

What is Keeper?

Keeper Security sells a zero-knowledge vault for passwords, passkeys, files, and, on the higher products, infrastructure secrets.

Encryption and decryption happen on the device, and the security architecture page wraps each record in a 256-bit AES key generated on the client, so logins, attachments, TOTP codes, payment data, URLs, and custom fields stay inside that encryption.

A copy of the database is not a readable vault, which is what you tell an assessor who asks whether staff can open an employee's records.

A master-password login derives that key on the device with PBKDF2 at 1,000,000 iterations, the stretch you cite instead of a vague encryption claim. An SSO login unwraps the data key with an elliptic-curve device key, and a new device needs approval from the user, an admin, or Keeper Automator on the customer's side.

Keeper employees are outside that approval, which keeps zero-knowledge intact when the identity provider handles the login.

The business comparison lists SOC 2 Type 2, SOC 3, and ISO 27001, 27017, and 27018, and the security page lists FIPS 140-3. Those names clear a checkbox and still leave you to tie the reports to your own system.

FedRAMP High and GovRAMP are GovCloud only on every business column, so a commercial tenant does not inherit that authorization by buying Enterprise.

Keeper's July 15, 2026 plan guide says more than 93,000 businesses use the product, and that number is Keeper's own count, not a third-party census. The same guide splits the buy into Business Starter, Business, Enterprise, Endpoint Privilege Manager, and KeeperPAM, with KeeperPAM available only as a quote.

How Keeper works

A personal signup is a 30-day trial, then Keeper Unlimited or Keeper Family. Family gives five private vaults whose members cannot see one another's records unless someone shares them, so a household is separate vaults rather than one shared login.

BreachWatch, the dark web scan of vault passwords, is an add-on on both, and file storage is an add-on on Unlimited while Family includes 10 GB, so those extras on the one-person plan are a second invoice.

A business rollout starts in the admin console, where Starter covers 5 to 10 users with shared team folders, autofill, and basic two-factor authentication, enough when the company will share logins and stop there.

Business adds organizational structure, a risk dashboard, and a free Family plan for each user, which covers home passwords without a second vendor. Business, Enterprise, and KeeperPAM offer a free trial whose length Keeper does not state, so do not put a day count in the project plan.

On a new laptop, the device generates its own key pair, the identity provider signs the user in, and someone has to approve the device before the data key is re-encrypted for it. An admin can approve that device from the console, and the ticket shows up on every rebuild.

That approval is an identity check, not a way for Keeper to read the vault.

Reporting is the rough edge: activity reporting is included, while Advanced Reporting and Alerts is an add-on on Starter, Business, and Enterprise, and the SIEM feed requires that add-on on every column. A team that promised Splunk events on the Enterprise order has not bought them yet.

Keeper key features

AES-256 record keys on the deviceEssential
Each record uses a 256-bit AES key created on the client, covering logins, files, TOTP codes, and URLs, and master-password accounts stretch that secret with PBKDF2 at 1,000,000 iterations. Staff cannot read the vault, which is the property an assessor is scoring.
Three published business seatsEssential
Starter is the 5-to-10-user vault with an admin console, the right quote for a small team and the wrong one once headcount leaves that band. Business adds structure, a risk dashboard, and a free Family plan per user. Enterprise adds SAML SSO, SCIM, directory sync, and advanced MFA, and you still buy it as a quote.
SSO and SCIM on Enterprise onlyEssential
Enterprise is the card that lists SCIM, Active Directory, LDAP, and SAML, and the two cheaper seats do not. A company that needs Okta or Entra to provision joiners is shopping the quote tier, and Starter would leave leavers the directory cannot close.
Dark web monitoring and SIEM as add-ons
BreachWatch is a paid add-on on personal plans and is outside the business seat price, so dark web monitoring is a second line on the order. Advanced Reporting and Alerts, compliance reporting, and the SIEM integration are add-ons on every business column, and the feed requires that reporting module.
Endpoint privilege and a quoted PAM tier
Endpoint Privilege Manager starts at a published per-endpoint annual rate and can sit beside a vault, which prices local admin rights without the PAM quote. KeeperPAM is sales-only, and each license includes up to 24 non-human identities and two endpoint licenses, and further endpoints are priced separately, so a wide server estate outgrows the bundle.
Device approval on the SSO path
SSO users unwrap the data key with a device key on the laptop or phone, and a new device needs approval from the user, an admin, or Automator on the customer's side. That keeps the zero-knowledge claim and adds a step on every laptop rebuild.

Keeper pricing

Keeper prints personal annual totals and three business monthly rates, and the US figures do not include tax. The number on the card is the vault, not the control stack. Put add-ons in the budget before anyone treats the seat as the whole program.

Keeper Unlimited is the one-person year, shown as $3.58 per month, and there is no free personal plan once the trial ends. Keeper Family is $91.99 for the year, shown as $7.67 per month, for five private vaults and 10 GB of file storage.

Unlimited does not include that storage, so files are an extra. The personal BreachWatch add-on is $26.99 for the year, and the family BreachWatch add-on is $53.99 for the year. The personal trial lasts 30 days, then the paid year starts.

Business Starter is $24 per user per year, the annual form of the monthly rate on the card, capped at 5 to 10 users. Ten Starter seats come to $240 for the year, and an eleventh person leaves that band, so growth forces a plan change.

Business is $48 per user per year, with a minimum of five users in the July 2026 plan guide, and each user can open a free Family plan. Eleven Business seats come to $528 for the year, a real step up from Starter that buys departments, the risk dashboard, and the family vault.

Enterprise is $72 per user per year at the published start rate. Twenty-five people on that start rate come to $1,800 for the year before add-ons. Keeper still routes that tier through a quote, because SSO, SCIM, and advanced MFA are why you are there.

Endpoint Privilege Manager is $36 per endpoint per year in the same July 2026 guide, the published way to price local admin rights beside the vault. KeeperPAM is a custom quote: two endpoint licenses come with each PAM license, and further endpoints use that per-endpoint rate, so the quote is not an unlimited estate.

BreachWatch for business is an add-on, and it is included with KeeperPAM, which is why some teams take the quote instead of stacking modules on Enterprise.

The same check for 1Password, Bitwarden, Dashlane, and Proton Pass is in the table. 1Password's low personal rate is a first-year promotion for new customers on annual billing, so the renewal is not that introductory rate.

PlanPriceBest for
Keeper Unlimited$42.99 billed yearlyOne person, shown as $3.58/mo, 30-day trial
Keeper Family$91.99 billed yearlyFive private vaults, 10 GB storage included
Keeper BreachWatch, personal$26.99/yearDark web add-on, not included in Unlimited
Keeper BreachWatch, family$53.99/yearFamily dark web add-on
Keeper Business Starter$2/user/mo billed yearly5 to 10 users, admin console, no SSO
Keeper Business$4/user/mo billed yearlyMinimum 5 users, free Family plan per user
Keeper Enterprise$6/user/mo billed yearlySSO and SCIM, purchased via quote
Keeper Endpoint Privilege Manager$36/endpoint/yearJuly 2026 guide, extra endpoints on PAM
KeeperPAMCustom quoteSales only, BreachWatch included
1Password Individual, first year$2.99/mo billed yearlyNew customers on 1password.com; then $3.99
1Password Business$8.99/user/mo billed yearlyWatchtower included, plus SSO, on a 14-day trial
1Password Teams Starter Pack$24.95/mo for 10Annual billing, with extra seats at $4.99
Bitwarden Teams$4.00/user/mo billed yearlyDirectory sync and SCIM, without passwordless SSO
Bitwarden Enterprise$6.00/user/mo billed yearlyPasswordless SSO and the self-hosting option
Bitwarden Premium$19.80/yearOne person, also shown as $1.65/mo
Dashlane Password Management$8/user/mo billed yearlyVault seat with SSO and SCIM, 14-day trial
Proton Pass Essentials$23.88/yearOne person's 12-month price in the USD catalog
Proton Pass Plus$35.88/yearThe higher 12-month cycle in the USD catalog
Proton Pass Professional$53.88/user/year12-month USD catalog rate for each added user
NordPass business checkoutUSD, VAT excludedSeat figure appears at purchase, not as a fixed list price

Keeper pros and cons

What we like

  • Starter, Business, and Enterprise each have a published annual start rate, so a 10-person vault and a 25-person SSO rollout can be costed before a call.
  • Record encryption is 256-bit AES on the device, with PBKDF2 at 1,000,000 iterations for master-password accounts, and FIPS 140-3 is on the security page.
  • Business includes a free Family plan for each user, which Starter does not, so home passwords do not need a second invoice.

What could be better

  • SAML SSO and SCIM are Enterprise, and that tier is a quote even though the start rate is published.
  • BreachWatch, Advanced Reporting and Alerts, and the SIEM feed are add-ons on every business column, so the seat is not the detection stack.
  • Starter is capped at 5 to 10 users, and the personal offer is a 30-day trial rather than a free vault.

Who Keeper is for

Keeper fits a security team that wants a published vault seat and will move to Enterprise the day the identity provider has to provision users. Starter is the right quote for 5 to 10 people who will share folders and do not need SAML, a small company still doing joiners by hand.

Business is the right quote when you need departments, a risk dashboard, and a Family plan for each employee, and you can still live without SSO.

Skip Starter when Okta or Entra already runs joiners and leavers, because the directory will not be able to close the vault. Skip the ladder entirely when the pilot cannot put a card down, because the personal offer is a trial rather than a free vault.

Buy KeeperPAM when session recording and non-human identities are the project. That quote is a different purchase from a password seat, and it should stay out of the vault budget.

People who want a free account and a separate authenticator can stay on Bitwarden. A household that wants Swiss jurisdiction and hide-my-email aliases is closer to Proton Pass.

If alerting has to cover more than vault passwords, start with dark web monitoring tools. Pipeline secrets are a different product: see secrets management.

Hardware keys for the second factor sit in authenticator apps. Keeper's SOC 2 claim still has to be tied to your own evidence: see SOC 2 compliance automation.

Best Keeper alternatives

If Keeper is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
KeeperTeams that will buy a published vault seat and pay Enterprise for SSO.From $2/user/mo (Business Starter, billed yearly)Visit →
1PasswordTeams that want a Secret Key, SSO on Business, and a polished admin client.From $2Visit →
BitwardenSecurity teams that want SCIM on a lower seat and a free vault to start.Teams $4Visit →
DashlaneTeams that will buy a vault seat and a separate detection seat.From $8/user/mo (Password Management, billed yearly)Visit →
Proton PassBuyers who will trade Keeper's admin depth for Swiss jurisdiction and hide-my-email aliases.Essentials $23Visit →
NordPassBuyers who can take a USD total at purchase and do not need a printed list price.Billed in USD with VAT excludedVisit →
Lowest published monthly priceKeeper$21Password$2.99Bitwarden$4Dashlane$8
Lowest monthly figure each vendor publishes, checked Sep 2026. A tilde marks a figure the vendor states approximately. Per-seat and usage charges can sit on top of it. 2 of 6 do not publish a comparable monthly price and are left out rather than estimated.
1Password
A polished vault whose second secret and admin client are the control you explain after an incident.
Visit →
Bitwarden
An auditable vault with a free account and business rates you can read before a sales call.
Visit →
Dashlane
A credential platform that prices the vault and detection as two separate packages.
Visit →
Proton Pass
Proton's encrypted vault when a free plan and a readable USD cycle matter more than admin depth.
Visit →
NordPass
A Nord Security vault that charges business customers in USD and withholds the seat number until purchase.
Visit →

The bottom line

Buy Keeper when the vault seat can be a published annual rate and you already know which control forces Enterprise. Starter is the small-team vault, Business is the seat with a Family plan and a risk dashboard, and Enterprise is the SSO quote. Name the control first, or you will order a vault that cannot meet the identity requirement.

Choose Bitwarden when the lower business seat has to include SCIM, or when the pilot has to start free. Choose 1Password when a second secret and the admin client are what you need to explain, and budget the regular annual personal rate after the first year.

Choose Dashlane when detection on logins outside the vault is its own product. Choose Proton Pass when Swiss jurisdiction and hide-my-email aliases matter more than admin depth. Open NordPass at purchase for the USD total, because it publishes no seat price you can paste into a budget.

A vault will not stop a phish, and the practical steps are in how to prevent phishing attacks. Cyberpresso's daily brief is where this control call shows up between reviews. Subscribe free if you want the next pricing note in the inbox.

Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Keeper Review 2026", September 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is Keeper worth it in 2026?
Yes, for a company that will buy the published vault seat and move to Enterprise when SAML or SCIM is required. Starter covers 5 to 10 users, and Business adds structure, a risk dashboard, and a free Family plan per user, with a five-user minimum in the July 2026 plan guide. The middle seat is therefore a headcount floor as well as a feature step. It is the wrong buy for SSO on the cheapest seat, a free personal vault, or a SIEM feed inside the Enterprise start rate, because SSO is the quote, the personal offer is a trial, and the SIEM feed is an add-on. KeeperPAM is a separate sales conversation from the vault seat.
How much does Keeper cost?
In the US price catalog checked in September 2026, Keeper Unlimited is $42.99 for the year and Family is $91.99 for the year. Business Starter is $2 per user per month billed annually, Business is $4 per user per month billed annually, and Enterprise starts at $6 per user per month billed annually. Ten Starter seats are $240 for the year, and Endpoint Privilege Manager is $36 per endpoint per year. KeeperPAM is a custom quote, and personal BreachWatch is $26.99 for the year on top of Unlimited.
Does Keeper have a free plan?
Not as a standing personal vault: the personal pricing page sells Keeper Unlimited and Keeper Family with a 30-day free trial, so the unpaid period ends and the annual plan starts. Business, Enterprise, and KeeperPAM also offer free trials, and Keeper does not state how many days those last, which means a rollout plan cannot assume a month. A team that needs a free vault should look at Bitwarden, which still offers a free account with unlimited passwords, or at Proton's free Pass plan. After the trial, Keeper's path is the paid personal year.
How does Keeper compare with 1Password and Bitwarden?
Keeper publishes an Enterprise start rate and still sells that tier as a quote, with a separate endpoint product at the annual per-endpoint rate in the table and a PAM tier that is sales-only. 1Password Business is $8.99 per user per month billed annually, with a 14-day trial and no free plan, so SSO costs more per seat and does not require a quote. Bitwarden Teams is $4.00 per user per month billed annually and includes SCIM on that seat, while Keeper holds SCIM for Enterprise. Bitwarden Enterprise is $6.00 per user per month billed annually. Pick Keeper when privileged access is in scope, and pick Bitwarden when a free vault or SCIM on the lower seat is the constraint.
Does Keeper's business price include SSO and dark web monitoring?
SSO and SCIM are on Enterprise, not on Starter or Business, so the two cheaper seats cannot be the identity-provider plan. BreachWatch is a paid add-on on the personal plans, and Advanced Reporting and Alerts, compliance reporting, and the SIEM integration are add-ons on Starter, Business, and Enterprise. The SIEM feed requires that reporting add-on, so an Enterprise signature still does not turn the feed on. BreachWatch is included with KeeperPAM, which is quoted rather than sold as a self-serve seat, and FedRAMP High is GovCloud only, so a commercial Enterprise order does not include that authorization.
Related guides

Get the Cyberpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free