Best Hardware Wallet 2026: Cold Wallets Ranked by Six Security Facts
COLDCARD Mk5 at $219 scores 6 of 6 on our six-point security list as of November 2026. Prices read November 4 on US stores.

Key facts9 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
- 9 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
- 1 (best for: Bitcoin-only savers who want microSD signing): $219
- 2 (best for: Multi-chain users who want QR signing): $278
- 3 (best for: A larger OLED screen with QR signing): $299
- 4 (best for: Bitcoin owners who want a keyboard and QR signing): $319
As of November 2026, the top three hardware wallets (cold wallets) are COLDCARD Mk5 at $219, OneKey Pro at $278 and OneKey Pro 2 at $299, priced on each vendor's US store on November 4, 2026. The order comes from a six-point security score read on vendor pages, then price. No link changes a place.
Prices read November 4, 2026 on each vendor's US store; security facts from each vendor's own pages. Compared from vendor specs and pages, not tested hands-on.
Cyberpresso data: Of the 248 news posts Cyberpresso published from August 18 to November 4, 2026, two covered attacks on hardware wallets: a stolen device attestation key at Keystone (October 28) and a spy implant in a Ledger sold by a reseller (October 12). Method: every 2026 "News" post, matched on wallet and brand terms, then read by hand.
At a glance
| # | Wallet | Price (Nov 4, 2026) | Best for | Secure element | Open-source firmware | Screen | Connection | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | COLDCARD Mk5 | $219 | Bitcoin-only savers who want microSD signing | Dual secure elements | Yes, GitHub repo | 1.54 inch screen | MicroSD, NFC, USB-C | 6 of 6 |
| 2 | OneKey Pro | $278 | Multi-chain users who want QR signing | 4 EAL6+ secure elements | Yes, GitHub repo | 3.5 inch color touchscreen | USB-C, Bluetooth, QR, NFC | 6 of 6 |
| 3 | OneKey Pro 2 | $299 | A larger OLED screen with QR signing | 4 EAL6+ secure elements | Yes, GitHub repo | 3.54 inch OLED | USB-C, Bluetooth, QR, NFC | 6 of 6 |
| 4 | COLDCARD Q | $319 | Bitcoin owners who want a keyboard and QR signing | Dual secure elements | Yes, GitHub repo | 3.2 inch LCD | QR, NFC, USB-C | 6 of 6 |
| 5 | SafePal S1 | $49.99 | The lowest price with QR-only signing | CC EAL6+ chip (vendor table) | Not counted | 1.3 inch color screen | QR only | 4 of 6 |
| 6 | Trezor Safe 3 | $59 | A low price with open-source code and a secure element | EAL6+ secure element | Yes, GitHub repo | 0.96 inch OLED | USB-C | 4 of 6 |
| 7 | Ledger Nano S Plus | $69 | A low-priced Ledger with a secure element | CC EAL6+ (ST33K1M5) | Not stated | 1.1 inch compact screen | USB-C | 4 of 6 |
| 8 | SafePal X1 | $69.99 | An open-source Bluetooth wallet | EAL6+ independent secure element | Yes, vendor calls it open source | 1.8 inch LCD | Bluetooth | 4 of 6 |
| 9 | Ledger Nano X | $99 | A Bluetooth Ledger with a secure element | CC EAL5+ (ST33J2M0) | Not stated | 1.1 inch compact screen | Bluetooth, USB-C | 4 of 6 |
Five vendors described a 2026 incident (SafePal's concerned order data, not devices), and none says units on sale today are affected: Coinkite says "New units ship with corrected firmware", Ledger says "Every unit examined was clean", and OneKey and Trezor tie theirs to one reseller.
1. COLDCARD Mk5: best for Bitcoin-only savers who want microSD signing

Cyberpresso spec card
Coinkite lists the Mk5 at $219, in stock, read November 4, 2026. The store strikes through $269 beside it, unlabelled, so the card uses $219.
Pros: dual secure elements; "pocketable MicroSD signing" with no data cable; open-source, reproducible firmware.
Cons: Bitcoin only; a July 2026 firmware bug weakened seed generation, and fixed firmware "does not repair an existing seed created on affected firmware."
Security facts: "It pairs dual secure elements" (Mk5 page). "COLDCARD firmware is open source and reproducible," with github.com/coldcard/firmware. A 1.54 inch screen (store). A responsible disclosure page and a Bitcoin bounty (security page). "You can create a new Master Seed (12 or 24 words) directly on an empty COLDCARD," in BIP-39 words (master seed docs).
Incident: for Mk4, Mk5 and Q, Coinkite's status page says "Do not treat later hardware as outside the affected scope. Install and verify the current recommended firmware before generating a new seed." Its store adds: "New units ship with corrected firmware. Remember to always upgrade on receipt."
Link: COLDCARD Mk5 product page.
2. OneKey Pro: best for multi-chain users who want QR signing

Cyberpresso spec card
OneKey's structured data lists the Pro at $278 USD, in stock, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: "Built with 4 EAL 6+ Secure Elements"; "Air-Gap QR Signing. Scan. Sign. Send."; a 3.5 inch color touchscreen.
Cons: $59 more than the Mk5 for the same score; USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC sit beside the QR path.
Security facts: chips and QR signing on the product page. "We open source the code of our original software and firmware at GitHub" (security page, github.com/OneKeyHQ), which also links a "Report a Vulnerability" policy. The product page says "Create a 24-word Recovery Phrase."
Incident: OneKey's CryptoBilis update, updated October 12, 2026, ended a reseller's authorization. It does not say units sold on OneKey's own store are affected.
Link: OneKey Pro product page.
3. OneKey Pro 2: best for a larger OLED screen with QR signing

Cyberpresso spec card
OneKey's structured data lists the Pro 2 at $299 USD, in stock, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: four EAL6+ secure elements; "Camera-based QR signing"; a 3.54-inch OLED ClearView display.
Cons: it costs $21 more than the OneKey Pro for the same score; USB-C, Bluetooth and NFC are on board besides QR.
Security facts: "Four secure elements" and "All software and firmware are open source," with GitHub linked, on the product page. "Report a Vulnerability" on the security page. OneKey's Pro 2 setup guide says "Tap 'Create' to generate a new Seed Phrase" and to "write down the 12-word Seed Phrase generated by your OneKey Pro 2."
Incident: the same October 12 OneKey update on the CryptoBilis reseller applies to devices bought from that channel.
Link: OneKey Pro 2 product page.
4. COLDCARD Q: best for Bitcoin owners who want a keyboard and QR signing

Cyberpresso spec card
Coinkite lists the Q at $319 and in stock, read November 4, 2026. The store strikes through $369 beside it, unlabelled, so the card uses $319.
Pros: QR and microSD air-gapped paths; "Q for QR and keyboard"; a 3.2 inch LCD.
Cons: $100 more than the Mk5; Bitcoin only; the same July 2026 firmware notice as the Mk5.
Security facts: "Dual Secure Element" on the home page; the same firmware repository, disclosure page, bounty and master seed docs as the Mk5.
Link: COLDCARD Q product page.
5. SafePal S1: best for the lowest price with QR-only signing

Cyberpresso spec card
SafePal lists the S1 at $49.99 on its US store, read November 4, 2026. It is the cheapest model that scores four, so it takes fifth place.
Pros: lowest price of the nine; "100% air-gapped signing" with "No Bluetooth, WiFi or NFC" and "No USB connection"; a "CC EAL6+ Chip" row in its compare table.
Cons: only "essential aspects of the code" are called open source, with no repository; no chip model named; no disclosure page or bounty found.
Security facts: chip row, 1.3 inch IPS full-color screen and air gap on the S1 page. SafePal's support article says it "fully supports the BIP39/44 standard," with 12 to 24 words "depending on how you choose it when you first create a new wallet," and lists the S1.
Incident: SafePal's own security update, dated August 16, 2026 and updated October 30, 2026, covers unauthorized access to customer order information, not devices: "This incident did not involve your seed phrase, private keys, wallet password, or other wallet credentials."
Link: SafePal S1 product page.
6. Trezor Safe 3: best for a low price with open-source code and a secure element

Cyberpresso spec card
Trezor's structured data lists the Safe 3 at $59 USD, in stock, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: "Secure Element (EAL6+)"; "Security starts with open-source," with github.com/trezor; a bug bounty.
Cons: USB-C only, so the computer is part of the signing chain; the default backup is the "20-word backup format", with 12 and 24 words offered.
Security facts: chip, code and a 0.96 inch OLED on the product page; bounty on the security page. The page names "12-, 20- & 24-word wallet backup"; BIP-39 is not stated as the default, so point 6 is not counted.
Incident: Trezor's notice of October 30, 2026 tells CryptoBilis buyers to move funds to a new seed "as soon as possible."
Link: Trezor Safe 3 product page.
7. Ledger Nano S Plus: best for a low-priced Ledger with a secure element

Cyberpresso spec card
Ledger's US store lists the Nano S Plus at $69 USD, in stock, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: "Secure Element Chip: ST33K1M5," CC EAL6+; Ledger devices "only generate 24-word Secret Recovery Phrases"; a public bounty program.
Cons: open-source firmware not stated; USB-C only; Ledger Recover is an extra $99.99 a year if you want it.
Security facts: chip and 1.1 inch screen on the product page; phrase in Ledger's support article (BIP39/BIP44); bounty program linked from the footer.
Incident: Ledger's October 15, 2026 response says "Every unit examined was clean" and that the attack came through resellers.
Link: Ledger Nano S Plus product page.
8. SafePal X1: best for an open-source Bluetooth wallet with a secure element

Cyberpresso spec card
SafePal lists the X1 at $69.99 on its US store, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: "EAL6+ independent secure element"; "the first open-source bluetooth hardware wallet by SafePal," with github.com/SafePalWallet; a 1.8 inch LCD.
Cons: signs over a "High-speed Bluetooth signing mechanism"; SafePal says only "relevant parts" of the X1 code are on GitHub; no disclosure page found.
Security facts: the X1 page states the EAL6+ chip; SafePal's X1 post names a "CC EAL5+ secure element chip" instead, so the two vendor pages disagree. The same SafePal support article lists the X1 with BIP39/44 phrases.
Link: SafePal X1 product page.
9. Ledger Nano X: best for a Bluetooth Ledger with a secure element

Cyberpresso spec card
Ledger's US store lists the Nano X at $99 USD, in stock, read November 4, 2026.
Pros: "Secure Element Chip: ST33J2M0"; Bluetooth and USB-C; the same 24-word phrase and bounty as the Nano S Plus.
Cons: the chip is CC EAL5+, one level below the Nano S Plus's CC EAL6+; $30 more than the Nano S Plus for the same score.
Security facts: chip and certification on the product page; open-source firmware not stated.
Link: Ledger Nano X product page.
Also passing, outside the ranking
- OneKey Classic 1S: 5 of 6, $99. Brand cap. Its setup guide has you "write down your 12 recovery phrase words"; no QR path. Product page.
- OneKey Classic 1S Pure: 5 of 6, $79, in stock. Brand cap. No QR path; its quick start says "Follow the screen instructions, the device will generate a set of 12/24 word recovery phrase". Product page.
- Trezor Safe 5: 4 of 6, $129. Below the ninth place; USB-C only; 20-word default. Product page.
- Trezor Safe 7: 4 of 6, $249. Below the ninth place; no air-gapped path. Product page.
- SafePal S1 Pro: 4 of 6, $89.99. Brand cap. QR-only signing; no disclosure page or bounty found. Product page.
- Ledger Gen5: 4 of 6, $179. Brand cap. Product page.
- Ledger Flex: 4 of 6, $249 (graphite). Brand cap. Product page.
- Ledger Stax: 4 of 6, $399. Brand cap. Names the ST33K1M5 chip with CC EAL6+; Bluetooth and NFC. Product page.
- NGRAVE ZERO: 1 of 6, $398. Below the ninth place. Air-gapped QR signing stated; no screen, named chip, open-source firmware, disclosure page or default phrase stated on the product page. Product page.
- Tangem Wallet (2-card set $59.90, 3-card set $69.90): 0 of 6. Its security page names a bug bounty, but tangem.com/en/bug-bounty returns 404, so the point is not counted. No chip model named (its home page says a Samsung-developed, EAL6+ certified chip) and no screen; the home page also says "A seed phrase remains optional for advanced users." See the Tangem Wallet 3-card pack on Tangem's store.
Left out, and why
- Keystone 3 Pro: "Currently on pre-order" on its US store, so it fails the in-stock gate. Keystone's statement dated October 26, 2026 says the 18,835 devices in existing inventory with the old key "will be destroyed. They will not be sold or shipped to customers." A device received after October 20, 2026 should be verified with Keystone support before use.
- Ledger Atom: $849, "Reserve now," "Shipping mid-2027": not in stock. Product page.
- BitBox02 and BitBox Nova: USD offered, USD price not readable on November 4, 2026.
What a plan costs over 12 and 24 months
No numbered pick states a recurring fee except optional Ledger Recover.
| Item | One-time price (Nov 4, 2026) | Recurring fee, 12 months | Recurring fee, 24 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| COLDCARD Mk5 | $219 | none stated | none stated |
| Ledger Recover, annual plan | not applicable | $99.99 | $199.98 |
| Ledger Recover, monthly plan | not applicable | $119.88 | $239.76 |
Cyberpresso data: computed from vendor prices read November 4, 2026. Ledger Recover is $99.99 a year on its recovery page and $9.99 a month on its Academy page. Twelve monthly payments are 12 times $9.99, or $119.88; 24 are $239.76. Annual is not 12 times monthly. Ledger's recovery page says monthly renewals are processed in EUR, so the dollar figure can vary with the exchange rate.
Security compared: the six facts for the nine numbered picks
| Wallet | Secure element | Open-source firmware | Screen | Air-gapped signing | Disclosure page or bounty | Default recovery phrase | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| COLDCARD Mk5 | Yes, dual | Yes, repo | Yes | Yes, microSD | Yes, bounty | Yes, 12 or 24 words | 6 of 6 |
| OneKey Pro | Yes, 4 EAL6+ | Yes, GitHub | Yes | Yes, QR | Yes, GitHub policy | Yes, 24 words | 6 of 6 |
| OneKey Pro 2 | Yes, 4 EAL6+ | Yes, GitHub | Yes | Yes, QR | Yes, GitHub policy | Yes, 12 words (setup guide) | 6 of 6 |
| COLDCARD Q | Yes, dual | Yes, repo | Yes | Yes, QR and microSD | Yes, bounty | Yes, 12 or 24 words | 6 of 6 |
| SafePal S1 | Yes, CC EAL6+ chip | No, not device | Yes | Yes, QR | No, not found | Yes, BIP39/44 (support article) | 4 of 6 |
| Trezor Safe 3 | Yes, EAL6+ | Yes, repo | Yes | No, USB-C | Yes, bounty | No, 20-word default | 4 of 6 |
| Ledger Nano S Plus | Yes, CC EAL6+ | Not stated | Yes | No, USB-C | Yes, bounty | Yes, 24 words | 4 of 6 |
| SafePal X1 | Yes, EAL6+ | Yes, blog and repo link | Yes | No, Bluetooth | No, not found | Yes, BIP39/44 (support article) | 4 of 6 |
| Ledger Nano X | Yes, CC EAL5+ | Not stated | Yes | No, Bluetooth | Yes, bounty | Yes, 24 words | 4 of 6 |
Every entry comes from the vendor's own page, read November 4, 2026.
How to choose
- Bitcoin only, microSD signing: the COLDCARD Mk5, one of four at 6 of 6 and the cheapest of them. Update its firmware on receipt, as Coinkite asks.
- Lowest price with open-source code and a secure element: the Trezor Safe 3 at $59. The S1 at $49.99 is cheaper, but its firmware is not counted as open source.
- A Ledger, because your apps need one: the Nano S Plus at $69, 4 of 6. Read Ledger's October 15 response first.
Buy only from the vendor's own store or a listed reseller; OneKey and Trezor both removed the reseller named in their notices. Protect the accounts that guard a wallet with the 2FA setup guide for a small business, the password manager roundup, the hardware security key guide and the Yubico and SoloKey comparison. Camera buyers can start with the best video doorbell of 2026 or the best security camera without a subscription.
Methodology: how the order is set
A device is ranked only if the vendor sells it new for US dollars, it is in stock, and no vendor statement says units sold today are affected. The six points, one each: a named secure element chip; open-source device firmware with a public repository link (apps alone do not count); a screen on the device; air-gapped signing by QR or microSD with no USB, Bluetooth or NFC data link; a disclosure page or bug bounty that returns 200; and a standard recovery phrase that the default setup creates. A standard phrase restores the wallet in other compatible wallets if the device or the vendor is gone.
Rule calls, applied to every brand:
- Point 6 needs the vendor's own page (product page, setup guide or support article) saying the default setup creates a standard BIP39 phrase; an optional phrase, a backup kept only on the vendor's cards, or a 20-word SLIP-39 default does not count.
- Where wording could be read two ways, the stricter reading applies: point 1 counts a secure element the vendor names (for Tangem, a live brand, a chip model is required), and point 5 needs a disclosure or bounty page that returns 200, which is why Tangem scores no point for the bounty its security page names.
Score sorts first, high to low; price sorts second, low to high, shipping and tax excluded.
Price basis: the US dollar page price read November 4, 2026, with no checkout code. No cart was reproduced, so no cart price is used. No ranked price is a sale.
At most two numbered picks per brand; a brand's other models that pass are listed below the ranking with their score and price. The nine-slot limit places the Trezor Safe 5 and Safe 7 below the ninth place. Links never change the order.
FAQ
What is a cold wallet?
A cold wallet keeps the private keys for your crypto on a device that is not connected to the internet.
Is a hardware wallet worth it?
For a balance you cannot afford to lose to an exchange failure, it can be. The trade-off is the recovery phrase: a lost device with no backup is a lost balance.
What happens if I lose my hardware wallet?
Restore the seed on another compatible device. For a CryptoBilis-channel device, Trezor's October 30, 2026 notice says to move funds to a new wallet with a new seed.
What is Ledger Recover and what does it cost?
An optional subscription that encrypts, fragments and secures your Secret Recovery Phrase. Ledger's US recovery page lists $99.99 a year; its Academy page gives $9.99 a month.
Is an open-source hardware wallet safer?
Open source lets outsiders check the firmware. COLDCARD, OneKey and Trezor state it for their devices. The Ledger pages we read do not, and SafePal says only "relevant parts" of the X1 code are on GitHub.
What is an air-gapped wallet?
It signs without a live data link to a computer or phone. The COLDCARD Mk5 and Q, OneKey Pro and Pro 2, and SafePal S1 state a QR or microSD path; the Trezor Safe 3, Ledger Nano S Plus, SafePal X1 and Ledger Nano X do not.
Sources
All read November 4, 2026.
- Coinkite: coldcard.com, Mk5, Q, store, security, status, master seed docs, disclosure.
- OneKey: Pro, Pro 2, Classic 1S, Classic 1S Pure, security, CryptoBilis update.
- Trezor: Safe 3, Safe 5, Safe 7, security, CryptoBilis notice.
- Ledger: Nano S Plus, Nano X, Nano Gen5, Flex, Stax, Atom, Recover, Academy, support article on the 24-word phrase, recovery sheet glossary, bounty program, response.
- SafePal: S1, S1 Pro, X1, X1 post, security update, mnemonic phrase support article.
- Tangem: pricing, security, home. NGRAVE: ZERO. BitBox: shop. Keystone: 3 Pro, statement.
Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Best Hardware Wallet 2026: Cold Wallets Ranked by Six Security Facts", November 2026.
Join the Cyberpresso newsletter at cyberpresso.com for daily security coverage.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
Cyberpresso: daily cyber & AI brief
Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.
Subscribe free