Best Security Camera Without Subscription 2026: Eight Models Ranked by Security and Price
Tapo C103 at $27.99 and Tapo C206 at $29.99 lead, with the aosu D1 Lite at $49.99, all with local storage and free person detection, as of November 2026.

Key facts8 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
- 8 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8
- 1 (best for: Lowest price, 1080p): $27.99
- 2 (best for: Pan-tilt 1080p): $29.99
- 3 (best for: Wired 2K pan-tilt): $49.99 (sale price)
- 4 (best for: Wired pan-tilt, IP66): $59.99
As of November 2026, the Tapo C103 at $27.99, the Tapo C206 at $29.99 and the aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite at $49.99 rank first to third. Each records to a card inside the camera, detects people without a paid plan and meets two of four security points. The order is set by that score, then by price.
Prices read November 4, 2026 on each vendor's US store; security facts from each vendor's own pages. Compared from vendor specs and pages, not tested in use.
Cyberpresso data: Of the 248 news posts Cyberpresso published from August 18 to November 4, 2026, two covered attackers taking over cameras or video recorders: Dahua cameras reached through the Easy4IP cloud feature (October 28, Ukraine's CERT-UA on guessable serial numbers) and Ubiquiti video recorders and D-Link NAS boxes turned into paid proxies (October 19, an app on at least 143 devices). Method: every 2026 post badged "News" in Cyberpresso's archive, matched on camera, video recorder, doorbell and router terms, then read by hand (sample size 248).
At a glance
| # | Model | One-camera cost (Nov 4, 2026) | Best for | Local storage | Hub needed | Person detection free | E2EE by default | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tapo C103 | $27.99 | Lowest price, 1080p | microSD up to 512GB, not included | No | Yes | No | 2 of 4 |
| 2 | Tapo C206 | $29.99 | Pan-tilt 1080p | microSD up to 512GB, purchased separately | No | Yes | No | 2 of 4 |
| 3 | aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite | $49.99 (sale price) | Wired 2K pan-tilt | SD card, size not stated, card not stated as included | No | Yes | No | 2 of 4 |
| 4 | eufy Wired Cam C31 | $59.99 | Wired pan-tilt, IP66 | microSD 32GB to 256GB, not included | No | Yes | No, opt-in | 2 of 4 |
| 5 | Reolink Argus MagiCam | $64.99 | Battery, no monthly fees | microSD up to 256GB, card not stated as included | No | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 |
| 6 | eufyCam C33 | $79.99 | Solar powered, 256GB slot | microSD up to 256GB, not included | No | Yes | No, opt-in | 2 of 4 |
| 7 | Reolink Argus 3E | $79.99 (with solar panel) | Solar kit in the box | microSD up to 128GB, sold separately | No | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 |
| 8 | aosu SolarCam P1 Max | $129.99 (sale price) | Solar 4K | microSD up to 128GB, card not stated as included | No | Yes | No | 2 of 4 |
All eight picks score two of the four security points. No pick needs a hub or base station to record. The gates and points are set out under the methodology.
1. Tapo C103: best for the lowest price with a card slot

Cyberpresso spec card
The Tapo C103 is $27.99 on Tapo's US store, and the cart charged $27.99.
Pros: microSD up to 512GB; "AI-Powered Person & Motion Detection, No Subscription Required" (quote, dash removed); two-step verification stated.
Cons: 1080p only; the card is not included; no encryption or update period stated beyond AES and TLS.
Security facts: microSD up to 512 GB. No end-to-end encryption stated; Tapo's privacy page describes AES 128-bit encryption and TLS 1.2. Two-Step Verification is available. Cloud location and update period: not stated. Disclosure: TP-Link's product security page, "Report Vulnerabilities to TP-Link".
See the Tapo C103 on Tapo's US store
2. Tapo C206: best for a pan-tilt 1080p camera with a card slot

Cyberpresso spec card
The Tapo C206 HybridCam 360 is $29.99 on Tapo's US store, and the cart charged $29.99.
Pros: IP65 pan-tilt with "1080p Full HD Live View"; microSD up to 512GB, or a Tapo H500 hub up to 16TB; "Person Detection" on its spec page.
Cons: "MicroSD Card purchased separately"; its own page has no "no subscription" line, so the free detection rests on Tapo's lineup guide.
Security facts: the same TP-Link facts and pages as the C103. Tapo's outdoor lineup guide says "Every camera in the Tapo lineup includes live viewing, motion alerts, and AI-powered detection with no subscription required".
See the Tapo C206 on Tapo's US store
3. aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite: best for a wired 2K camera with no fee

Image: aosu
The aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite is $49.99 on aosu's US store, a sale price; the page prints a regular price of $72.99 and no end date. Our cart check charged $49.99.
Pros: free security updates "for at least 5 years from the official launch date"; "Automatic Human Tracking When Human Motion is Detected"; free "Live Mode" on aosu's Standard plan.
Cons: no card size stated; no two-factor login stated; needs a power outlet.
Security facts: SD card, per aosu's comparison table, card not stated as included. No end-to-end encryption stated; the privacy policy says video is encrypted "in transit and at rest". The cloud page names "AWS Secure Storage", region not stated. Update period and reporting address on the vulnerability page.
See the aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite on aosu's US store
4. eufy Wired Cam C31: best for a wired pan-tilt camera with an IP66 rating

Cyberpresso spec card
The eufy Wired Cam C31 is $59.99 on eufy's US page, read November 4, 2026 during eufy's Early Black Friday Sale; codes are not counted.
Pros: IP66 with 360 degree pan-tilt; "AI Detection: Human/Vehicle/Pet/Sound/Crying Detection"; "All Features, Zero Monthly Fees".
Cons: "Recording requires a microSD card or HomeBase", and the card is not included; end-to-end encryption is opt-in.
Security facts: microSD 32GB to 256GB or a HomeBase Mini or HomeBase 3. "Advanced Encryption" "uses end-to-end encryption" only when turned on, per eufy's privacy page, which also states two-factor authentication. Cloud location and update period: not stated. Disclosure and bounty: eufy's vulnerability page (HTTP 200). Remote viewing: eufy's local security page offers "anytime, anywhere playback" with no monthly fee.
See eufy's US page for the C31
5. Reolink Argus MagiCam: best for a battery camera with no monthly fee

Image: Reolink
The Reolink Argus MagiCam is $64.99 on Reolink's US store for one camera; two cameras are $103.49.
Pros: IP67 housing; "Smart Person Detection" and "Live View on App" under "No Monthly Fees"; microSD up to 256GB.
Cons: 2MP; no end-to-end encryption stated; no US update period printed.
Security facts: microSD up to 256GB, card not stated as included. Two-factor login in Reolink's 2-Step Verification article. "Reolink Cloud", location not stated. Disclosure: Reolink's report a vulnerability page.
See the Reolink Argus MagiCam on Reolink's US store
6. eufyCam C33: best for a solar camera with a 256GB slot

Cyberpresso spec card
The eufyCam C33 is $79.99 on eufy's US page, read November 4, 2026 under the same Early Black Friday Sale.
Pros: solar powered, IP65; human, vehicle and pet AI detection; "Zero Monthly Fees: Protect your home with no cloud subscriptions".
Cons: the card is not included; end-to-end encryption is opt-in.
Security facts: the same eufy facts and pages as the C31. It ties the Argus 3E on price and ranks first on its larger 256GB card limit.
See eufy's US page for the C33
7. Reolink Argus 3E: best for a solar kit in the box

Image: Reolink
The Reolink Argus 3E is $79.99 on Reolink's US store, for one camera with a solar panel.
Pros: solar panel included; "Subscription-Free Smart Detection & Local Recording"; IP65.
Cons: microSD tops out at 128GB, sold separately; no end-to-end encryption stated.
Security facts: microSD up to 128GB; otherwise the same Reolink facts and pages as the MagiCam.
See the Reolink Argus 3E on Reolink's US store
8. aosu SolarCam P1 Max: best for a solar 4K camera with a microSD slot

Image: aosu
The aosu SolarCam P1 Max is $129.99 on aosu's US store, a sale price; the page prints a regular price of $167.99. Our cart check charged $129.99.
Pros: 4K with solar power; "AI-powered recognition identifies people, pets, and vehicles"; "Local Storage, No Subscription Required".
Cons: microSD limit of 128GB, half the C33's; no two-factor login stated.
Security facts: microSD up to 128GB, card not stated as included; otherwise the same aosu facts and pages as the D1 Lite.
See the aosu SolarCam P1 Max on aosu's US store
Also passing, outside the ranking
Outside the eight places because the brand already has two picks.
- Tapo C207 $29.99: score 2 of 4, the same price and 512GB limit as the C206; the tie goes to the lower model number.
- Tapo C216 $33.99, C120 $35.99, C121 $36.99, C217 $37.99, C400 $39.99, C402 $39.99, C500 $39.99, C236 $44.99, C320WS $44.99, C403 $49.99, C325WB V2 $59.99, C520WS $59.99, C246D $64.99, C425 $64.99, C460 $84.99 and C610 KIT $89.99: all score 2 of 4, prices from Tapo's US store. Tapo models above $89.99 are not listed.
- Reolink Argus Eco $84.99, Argus 3 Pro Solar Panel Lite $89.99, Argus 3 Pro $94.99, Argus Eco Pro $99.99 and Argus 4 Pro $179.99: score 2 of 4, microSD up to 128GB to 512GB.
- aosu SolarCam T2 $129.99 sale, SolarCam T2 Pro (one camera) $169.99 and Floodlight Cam Pro $159.99 sale: score 2 of 4. See the aosu SolarCam T2 on aosu's US store
- eufyCam C35 $89.99, SoloCam S220 $99.99, eufyCam C37 $99.99, SoloCam E30 $149.99 (the cart takes $50 off, giving $99.99; the higher price counts), SoloCam S340 $219.99 (microSD up to 256GB, card not stated as included; the cart takes $90 off), SoloCam E50 $229.99 and eufyCam S4 (one camera) $349.99: score 2 of 4. Other eufy models, such as the Solar Wall Light Cam S120 and the 4G LTE Cam S330, are not scored here.
- eufy Floodlight Camera E340 $219.99 (product page; $179.99 with a code or on the collection page): score 2 of 4, microSD up to 128GB.
Left out, and why
- Blink Outdoor 4: its FAQ puts Person Detection "with a Blink Subscription Plan or trial".
- Wyze Solar Cam Pan 2K, $79.98: its product page lists "Person, Package, and Vehicle Notifications" under Cam Plus.
- Arlo Essential plug-in, $49.99: its product page lists "Smart Detection" beside a free one-month Arlo Secure trial.
- aosu SolarCam D1 Max (one camera), $89.99: no microSD slot on the page.
- Five other aosu cameras (SolarCam Lite, SolarCam D1 Lite, D1 SE, Security Cam D1 SE, D1 Classic): no microSD or SD card line read.
- aosu Wireless Cam Lite, $49.99: aosu's comparison table lists "SD Card/Cloud" for it but also calls it "Wired", and its own product page prints no storage text, so the strict reading does not count it.
- Botslab W311 $79.00, W313 $79.00 and W315 $84.99 (sale prices): microSD up to 256GB and human detection, but no remote or live-view statement on their pages or on Botslab's app download, support and user manual pages, read November 4, 2026.
- Reolink Lumus $69.99 and RLC-510WA $74.99: "Notify Me" on reolink.com/us, not buyable today.
- Lorex 4K Spotlight Battery Wi-Fi (F861ASD), $149.99: its product page reads "only available for purchase by contacting our team directly", so there is no first-party buy price. It would score 2 of 4: two-step verification in the Lorex app settings article and a Report Vulnerabilities channel.
What a plan costs over 12 and 24 months
Cyberpresso data: computed from vendor prices read November 4, 2026. No pick needs a plan to record locally.
| Model | Camera price | Plan | Rate | 12 months | 24 months |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tapo C103 and C206 | $27.99 and $29.99 | Tapo Care, up to 2 devices, monthly | $3.49 a month | $41.88 | $83.76 |
| Tapo C103 and C206 | $27.99 and $29.99 | Tapo Care, up to 2 devices, annual | $34.99 a year | $34.99 | $69.98 |
| aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite | $49.99 | aosu Basic plan | $4.99 a month | $59.88 | $119.76 |
| aosu SolarCam P1 Max | $129.99 | aosu Basic plan | $4.99 a month | $59.88 | $119.76 |
| eufy C31 and C33 | $59.99 and $79.99 | Plus membership, monthly | $15.00 a month | $180.00 | $360.00 |
| eufy C31 and C33 | $59.99 and $79.99 | Plus membership, annual | $135.00 a year | $135.00 | $270.00 |
| Reolink Argus MagiCam and 3E | $64.99 and $79.99 | Reolink Cloud | Not read on a US product page | Not computed | Not computed |
Months times the monthly rate, or the annual rate for the annual rows. aosu's cloud page shows no annual price.
Security compared: the four scored facts for the eight picks
| # | Model | E2EE by default | Two-factor auth | Disclosure page | Update period | Score | Local storage (gate, not scored) | Cloud location (not scored) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Tapo C103 | No | Stated | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 512GB | Not stated |
| 2 | Tapo C206 | No | Stated | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 512GB | Not stated |
| 3 | aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite | No | Not stated | Yes | 5 years from launch | 2 of 4 | SD card, size not stated | AWS, region not stated |
| 4 | eufy Wired Cam C31 | Opt-in only | Stated | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 256GB | Not stated |
| 5 | Reolink Argus MagiCam | Not stated | Stated | Yes | Not stated (UK only) | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 256GB | Reolink Cloud, region not stated |
| 6 | eufyCam C33 | Opt-in only | Stated | Yes | Not stated | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 256GB | Not stated |
| 7 | Reolink Argus 3E | Not stated | Stated | Yes | Not stated (UK only) | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 128GB | Reolink Cloud, region not stated |
| 8 | aosu SolarCam P1 Max | No | Not stated | Yes | 5 years from launch | 2 of 4 | microSD up to 128GB | AWS, region not stated |
How to choose
- Lowest price for one door or yard: the Tapo C103, the Tapo C206 and the aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite cost under $50 and need no plan to record.
- No outlet nearby: the battery MagiCam, or a solar model (C33, Argus 3E, P1 Max).
- Encryption matters most: none of the eight states end-to-end encryption on by default; eufy's is opt-in, so turn it on in the app.
Related guides: the video doorbell guide, the PoE camera system guide, the 2FA apps review, the password managers review and the encrypted cloud storage review.
Methodology: how the order is set
Gates, all with no paid plan: a card inside the camera or a hub with storage, remote live view from the app, and person detection. Score: one point each for end-to-end encryption on by default for the video, two-factor authentication stated, a disclosure page returning 200, and a stated security-update period covering the model.
The order is score first, then the one-camera cost at the price basis, low to high: the higher of the price the product page shows and the price the cart charges, without a code, plus any hub the camera needs to record. Ties go to the larger stated microSD limit (the C33 over the Argus 3E), then the lower model number (the C206 over the C207).
Rule calls, applied to every brand:
- microSD card prices are left out of every camera's cost, because every camera without built-in storage needs one; the table says which include a card.
- A free cloud history is not local storage; aosu's free Standard plan counts only as live view.
- UK or EU update dates do not count for a US page: Reolink's PSTI statements give a support period "only applicable for the UK" (PSTI page).
- A vendor-wide statement counts for every model of that brand: Tapo's lineup guide, aosu's cloud page and eufy's local security page.
- Where wording could be read two ways, the stricter reading applies: Botslab states no remote viewing, and its "generally" and "subject to product-specific timelines" do not count as an update period.
At most two numbered picks per brand; a brand's other models that pass are listed below the ranking with their score and price. Links never change the order. No camera was tested.
FAQ
Do security cameras need a subscription?
Not to record locally. A plan adds off-site copies: Tapo Care $3.49 a month or $34.99 a year, aosu Basic $4.99 a month, eufy Plus $15 a month or $135 a year.
Is there a security camera with no monthly fee?
Yes. The eufy C31 page reads "All Features, Zero Monthly Fees", and the Reolink Argus MagiCam page reads "No Monthly Fees".
What is local storage on a security camera?
Video kept on a card in the camera or on a hub, not on the vendor's servers.
Can I view my camera remotely without a subscription?
Yes. The Tapo C103 page lists "1080p FullHD Live View", aosu's free Standard plan lists "Live Mode, No Events", and the MagiCam page lists "Live View on App".
Which picks detect people without a plan?
All eight, on their own pages or, for Tapo, in its lineup guide. The Blink, Wyze and Arlo models need a plan or trial.
Are these cameras end-to-end encrypted by default?
No. eufy's "Advanced Encryption" is opt-in, and the other picks state no end-to-end encryption. Two-factor authentication is stated for the Tapo, Reolink and eufy picks.
Sources
Every page below was read on November 4, 2026:
- Tapo C103: tapo-c103 and us.store.tapo.com
- Tapo C206: tapo-c206 and us.store.tapo.com
- Tapo C207: tapo-c207 and 1080p-pan-tilt-indoor-outdoor-security-camera-tapo-c207-hybridcam-360
- Tapo US store feed, other models: products.json
- Tapo lineup guide: the-tapo-outdoor-camera-lineup
- Tapo Care: tapocare
- Tapo privacy: tapo-privacy
- TP-Link FAQ 4336: 4336
- TP-Link product security: product-security
- aosu Outdoor Cam D1 Lite: outdoor-cam-d1-lite
- aosu SolarCam P1 Max: solarcam-p1-max
- aosu SolarCam T2: solarcam-t2
- aosu SolarCam T2 Pro: aosu-t2-pro
- aosu Floodlight Cam Pro: floodlight-cam-pro
- aosu Wireless Cam Lite: wireless-cam-lite
- aosu privacy policy, vulnerability management and cloud storage: privacy-policy, vulnerability-management, cloud-storage
- eufy Wired Cam C31: t817l121
- eufyCam C33: t8119121
- eufy SoloCam E30: t8171121
- eufy SoloCam S340: t81701w1
- eufy SoloCam E50: t81801w0
- eufyCam S4: t81721w1
- eufy Floodlight Camera E340: floodlight-cam-e340
- eufy local security: eufy-local-security
- eufy privacy commitment and vulnerability management: privacy-commitment, vulnerability-management
- Reolink Argus MagiCam: argus-magicam
- Reolink Argus 3E: argus-3e
- Reolink Argus Eco, Argus 3 Pro, Argus 3 Pro with Solar Panel Lite, Argus Eco Pro, Argus 4 Pro: argus-eco, argus-3-pro, argus-3-pro-with-solar-panel-lite, argus-eco-pro, argus-4-pro
- Reolink 2-Step Verification article: 7279264661017-How-to-Protect-Your-Account-with-2-Step-Verification
- Reolink vulnerability disclosure and PSTI statements: report-an-issue, product-compliance-psti
- Lorex F861ASD, app settings and security commitment: f861asd-4k-spotlight-battery-camera, lorex-app-settings-tab, security-commitment
- Botslab W311, W313, W315 and security advisory: botslab-outdoor-pan-tilt-camera-w311, botslab-pt-battery-wi-fi-camera-w313, botslab-dual-lens-ptz-outdoor-security-camera-w315, securityadvisory
- Wyze Solar Cam Pan 2K: wyze-solar-cam-pan-2k
- Arlo Essential plug-in: arlo-essential-plug-in
- Blink Outdoor 4 FAQ: outdoor4-camera-faq
Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Best Security Camera Without Subscription 2026: Eight Models Ranked by Security and Price", November 2026.
Join the Cyberpresso newsletter at cyberpresso.com for daily security coverage.
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
Cyberpresso: daily cyber & AI brief
Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.
Subscribe free