Guide

Best Video Doorbell 2026: Which Ones Record Without a Subscription

Tapo D210 leads at $64.99 (sale, November 2026), with a 4 of 6 security score and microSD recording. Prices read Nov 4.

Featured card: Tapo D210, Tapo D225, aosu Video Doorbell Pro, Reolink Video Doorbell PoE and Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) with prices read November 4, 2026
Key facts9 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
  • Updated: November 4, 2026
  • Prices as of: November 2026
  • 9 options compared: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9
  • 1 (best for: Battery, free AI detection): $64.99 (sale price)
  • 2 (best for: Wide 180 degree view): $89.99 (sale price)
  • 3 (best for: Local recording, base included): $95.99 (sale to Nov 14)
  • 4 (best for: One Ethernet cable for power and data): $119.99

As of November 2026, the top three on our security rule are the Tapo D210 at $64.99 (sale price, read November 4, 2026), the Tapo D225 at $89.99 (sale price) and the aosu Video Doorbell Pro at $95.99 (sale price). Each scores 4 of 6 security points; ties go to the lower price.

Prices read November 4, 2026 on each vendor's US store; security facts from each vendor's own pages. Compared from vendor specs and pages, not tested hands-on.

Cyberpresso data: of the 248 news posts Cyberpresso published from August 18 to November 4, 2026, five covered attacks on cameras, recorders or the routers in front of them: two on cameras and recorders (Dahua cameras taken over through the Easy4IP cloud feature, old NAS boxes and Ubiquiti video recorders turned into proxies) and three on routers. Method: titles and descriptions of every 2026 "News" post, matched on camera, recorder, doorbell and router terms, then read by hand.

At a glance

# Model Price (Nov 4, 2026) Best for Power Resolution, field of view Records without a plan E2EE by default Score
1 Tapo D210 $64.99 (sale price) Battery, free AI detection Battery 2K, 160 degrees diagonal Yes, microSD up to 512GB Not stated 4 of 6
2 Tapo D225 $89.99 (sale price) Wide 180 degree view Battery or wired 2K QHD, 180 degrees diagonal Yes, microSD up to 512GB Not stated 4 of 6
3 aosu Video Doorbell Pro $95.99 (sale to Nov 14) Local recording, base included Battery 2K, 166 degrees Yes, base included Not stated 4 of 6
4 Reolink Video Doorbell PoE $119.99 One Ethernet cable for power and data PoE 2K+ 5MP, not stated Yes, microSD up to 256GB Not stated 4 of 6
5 Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) (opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ) $143.99 (sale price) Battery with optional wiring Battery, or 8 to 24VAC 2K 4MP, head-to-toe Yes, microSD up to 512GB Not stated 4 of 6
6 eufy Video Doorbell E340 $169.99 (sale, to about Nov 19) Battery, 8GB built in Battery, or wired (8 to 24V) 2K, 160 degrees Yes, 8GB built in No, optional 4 of 6
7 eufy Video Doorbell S330 $179.99 (sale, to about Nov 19) Wired, no monthly fee Wired, 16 to 24VAC 2K (2560 by 1920), 160 degrees front Yes, 8GB built in No, optional 4 of 6
8 Google Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) $199.99 Wired, cloud previews only Wired, 16 to 24VAC 2K HDR, 166 degrees diagonal No; 6 hours of free cloud previews Not stated 4 of 6
9 Wyze Video Doorbell v2 $59.98 Lowest price of the nine Wired 2K, not stated Yes, microSD, card extra Not stated 3 of 6

1. Tapo D210: best for a battery doorbell with free AI detection

Cyberpresso spec card for Tapo D210: $64.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), 2K, 160 degree view, MicroSD up to 512GB, Free AI detection.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $64.99 on TP-Link's Tapo US store, sale price, read November 4, 2026. The page shows $74.99 struck through with a "$10 off" label and no end date. The cart charges $64.99.

Pros: microSD slot up to 512GB; "free AI detection" with "no additional fees or subscription required"; two-step verification stated.

Cons: the 180-day battery figure assumes 300 seconds of use a day; the microSD card is extra; no end-to-end encryption stated.

Security facts: "free local storage with a microSD card (up to 512GB, sold separately)". Two-factor login per TP-Link's two-step verification FAQ. Disclosure page: TP-Link's product security trust center (HTTP 200). End-to-end encryption, update period and cloud location: not stated.

Without a plan: microSD recording and free person alerts. A plan adds: Tapo Care cloud storage, from $3.49 a month or $34.99 a year.

See the Tapo D210 on Tapo's US store

2. Tapo D225: best for a battery or wired 2K doorbell with a 180 degree view

Cyberpresso spec card for Tapo D225: $89.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), 2K QHD, 180 degree view, MicroSD up to 512GB, Free AI detection.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $89.99 on the Tapo US store, sale price, read November 4, 2026. The page shows $129.99 struck through with a "$40 off" label and no end date. The cart charges $89.99.

Pros: 180 degree diagonal view; battery or hardwired; microSD up to 512GB with free AI detection.

Cons: $25 more than the D210 for the same score; the microSD card is extra.

Security facts: the same TP-Link facts, pages and Tapo Care prices as the D210.

See the Tapo D225 on Tapo's US store

3. aosu Video Doorbell Pro: best for local recording with no plan

aosu Video Doorbell Pro, black doorbell beside its white aosuBase Mini unit

Image: aosu

Price: $95.99, sale price, read November 4, 2026 (the page labels $139.99 "Regular price"). The sale carries a priceValidUntil of November 14, 2026. The cart charges $95.99 for the doorbell alone.

Pros: aosuBase Mini included, SD cards up to 128GB; updates promised "for at least 5 years from the official launch date"; 180-day built-in battery.

Cons: no two-factor login stated; the SD card is not included; without the base there is no recording path.

Security facts: storage on the included base (product page). No end-to-end encryption stated; the privacy policy says "encryption of video data in transit and at rest". Two-factor login and cloud location not stated. Update period and disclosure channel in the vulnerability policy (HTTP 200).

Without a plan: recording to the base, and person detection ("Passive Infrared & Human Body Detection with Motion Alerts", beside a "No Monthly Fees" header). A plan adds: optional cloud backup, price not stated on the pages read.

See the aosu Video Doorbell Pro on aosu's US store

4. Reolink Video Doorbell PoE: best for one Ethernet cable for power and data

Reolink Video Doorbell PoE, black doorbell with its blue Ethernet cable beside the white Reolink Chime

Image: Reolink

Price: $119.99 for 1 Pack (Black) on Reolink's US store, read November 4, 2026; 2 Packs are $234.99. No sale is shown; no cart total could be read.

Pros: "Smart Detection at No Cost" with person detection; microSD up to 256GB, or a Reolink NVR, Home Hub, FTP or NAS; chime in the box.

Cons: needs an Ethernet run to the door (PoE, or an adapter or doorbell wiring plus Ethernet); no field of view figure on the page read; no end-to-end encryption stated.

The white version frames 3:4, head to toe; the black frames 4:3.

Security facts: two-factor login per Reolink's 2-Step Verification article (HTTP 200). Disclosure page: Reolink's report an issue page (HTTP 200). End-to-end encryption, cloud location and a US update period not stated.

Without a plan: local recording, continuous or motion-triggered, and person alerts. A plan adds: no cloud plan price stated.

See the Reolink Video Doorbell PoE on Reolink's US store

5. Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen): best for a battery doorbell that can also run on doorbell wiring

Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen), black doorbell with a blue ring button

Image: Reolink

Price: $143.99 for 1 Pack (Black) on Reolink's US store, sale price read November 4, 2026 ("10% OFF", $159.99 struck, no end date shown). The pack with a Home Hub is $285.29.

Pros: microSD up to 512GB; "Stay aware without extra costs", with people, animal and vehicle recognition; "300-Day Lasting Battery Life", topped up by 8 to 24VAC wiring.

Cons: wired power mode needs 16 to 24VAC; the battery figure is the vendor's own; no end-to-end encryption stated.

It rings a compatible mechanical chime, a Reolink Chime Plus or a Home Hub.

Security facts: the same Reolink facts and pages as the PoE model.

Without a plan: microSD or Home Hub recording and person alerts. A plan adds: no cloud plan price stated.

See the Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) on Amazon (opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ).

6. eufy Video Doorbell E340: best for battery install with built-in storage

Cyberpresso spec card for eufy Video Doorbell E340: $169.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), 2K dual-camera, 160 degree view, 8GB built-in storage, No subscription fee.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $169.99 on eufy's US page, a sale price read November 4, 2026 under an "Early Black Friday Sale" countdown that ends about November 19. An automatic $50 "Sales Discount" in the cart brings it to $119.99; codes are not counted, and the higher page price ranks.

Pros: 8GB built in, no card to buy; "Human Detection AI" with "no subscription fee"; disclosure page with a bug bounty.

Cons: 8GB is a small buffer: the page's 90 days assumes 30 clips of 20 seconds a day; end-to-end encryption is opt-in.

Security facts: "Advanced Encryption" is an option, not stated as on by default (privacy page). Two-factor login yes. Cloud on AWS, region and update period not stated. Disclosure page with a bounty (vulnerability page, HTTP 200).

Without a plan: local recording and human detection. A plan adds: eufy Plus Membership ($15.00 a month or $135 a year) lists "Free Cloud Backup History (All Devices)".

See eufy's US page for the E340

7. eufy Video Doorbell S330: best for a wired doorbell with no monthly fee

Cyberpresso spec card for eufy Video Doorbell S330: $179.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), Hardwired, 16-24VAC, 8GB built-in storage, No monthly fee.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $179.99 on eufy's US page, a sale price read November 4, 2026 under the same countdown, ending about November 19. The cart applies an automatic $60 "Sales Discount" and totals $119.99; the higher page price ranks.

Pros: 2K (2560 by 1920) front camera plus a 97 degree package camera; 8GB built in, "about 90 days of events at typical use"; chime in the box.

Cons: needs a 30VA or larger transformer, the page warns; end-to-end encryption is opt-in.

Security facts: the same eufy facts and pages as the E340.

Without a plan: local recording and human detection. A plan adds: the same eufy Plus Membership, not needed to record.

See eufy's US page for the S330

8. Google Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen): best for a wired doorbell with Google's update dates, no local storage

Cyberpresso spec card for Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen): $199.99 (read Nov 4, 2026), 2K HDR video, 166 degree view, 6 hours of free video previews, Wired, 16-24VAC.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $199.99 on Google's US store, read November 4, 2026.

Pros: security updates stated to 10/1/2030; built-in person, package, vehicle and animal alerts; two-step verification stated.

Cons: nothing is recorded on the doorbell; the free tier keeps "6 hours of 10-second video previews" only.

Security facts: no end-to-end encryption stated; the page says the doorbell "uses encrypted video". Cloud location not stated. Update period: release 10/1/2025, security updates to 10/1/2030, in Google's security-updates table. Disclosure: Google's bug hunters program (HTTP 200).

Without a plan: 6 hours of 10-second cloud previews and the built-in alerts. A plan adds: Google Home Premium Standard at $10 a month or $100 a year (30 days of event-based history); Advanced at $20 a month or $200 a year (60 days of events, 10 days of continuous history).

See the Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) on Google's US store

9. Wyze Video Doorbell v2: best for a cheap wired 2K doorbell with microSD

Cyberpresso spec card for Wyze Video Doorbell v2: $59.98 (read Nov 4, 2026), 2K wired doorbell, MicroSD slot, card extra, Chime controller included.

Cyberpresso spec card

Price: $59.98 for the "Doorbell + Chime Controller" on Wyze's US page, read November 4, 2026.

Pros: lowest price of the nine; microSD recording when wired; two-factor login by SMS or authenticator app.

Cons: "Get AI detections with Cam Plus": person detection needs the plan; the microSD card is not in the box.

Security facts: end-to-end encryption not stated; Wyze's security page gives AES 128-bit encryption. Cloud on AWS; region and update period not stated. Disclosure: Vulnerability Disclosure (HTTP 200) and a Bugcrowd bounty.

Without a plan: microSD recording. A plan adds: Cam Plus, $2.99 a month per camera, for person and package alerts.

See Wyze's US page for the v2

Also passing, outside the ranking

  • Reolink Video Doorbell WiFi: score 4, $149.99 (a $20 automatic checkout discount is named, not ranked on). Over the Reolink cap. See it on Reolink's US store.
  • Tapo D260: score 4, $219.99. Over the Tapo cap.
  • eufy Video Doorbell S4 (Wired) with Chime 2: score 4, $299.99. Over the eufy cap.
  • Tapo D130: score 3, $59.99. Over the Tapo cap.
  • Wyze Battery Video Doorbell: score 3, $65.98 (no chime); records to microSD only on wired power. Below the ninth place.
  • aosu Video Doorbell SE: score 3, $79.99 (sale to Nov 14). Below the ninth place. See it on aosu's US store.
  • Wyze Duo Cam Battery Doorbell: score 3, $119.98. Below the ninth place.
  • Google Nest Doorbell (battery): score 3, $199.99; its stated update period ended 8/24/2026.
  • Botslab R810 SE: score 2, $78.99 (sale price). See it on Botslab's US store.
  • Botslab R810: score 2, $81.99 (sale price). See it on Botslab's US store.
  • aosu Video Doorbell R1 Ultra: score 2 on the strict reading, $135.99 (sale to Nov 14). See it on aosu's US store.
  • Arlo Video Doorbell (2nd Gen): score 2, $79.99.

Left out, and why

  • Ring: its US pages redirect to euro prices on the French store, so no US price was read; not scored.
  • Blink: its buy buttons go to amazon.com, and no first-party price was read.
  • Reolink Video Doorbell (Battery): out of stock ("Notify Me").
  • Botslab R801 and R811S: in stock, no local storage stated; not scored.
  • Lorex 2K wired, 2K battery and 4K wired: lorex.com lists each as "only available for purchase by contacting our team directly", so there is no first-party buy price.

Video doorbells that work without a subscription

Eight of the nine picks record with no paid plan: the aosu Pro to its base, the eufy pair to 8GB built in, and both Tapos, both Reolinks and the Wyze v2 to a microSD card you buy. The Nest keeps 6 hours of cloud previews and nothing on the device. Eight of the nine give free person alerts; the Wyze v2 needs Cam Plus.

What a plan costs over 12 and 24 months

Plan Monthly 12 months, monthly 24 months, monthly Annual 12 months, annual 24 months, annual
Google Home Premium Standard $10.00 $120.00 $240.00 $100.00 $100.00 $200.00
eufy Plus Membership $15.00 $180.00 $360.00 $135.00 $135.00 $270.00
Wyze Cam Plus, per camera $2.99 $35.88 $71.76 $29.99 $29.99 $59.98
Tapo Care, starting price $3.49 $41.88 $83.76 $34.99 $34.99 $69.98

Cyberpresso data: computed from vendor prices read November 4, 2026. Arithmetic: 10 times 12 is 120; 15 times 24 is 360; 2.99 times 24 is 71.76; 3.49 times 24 is 83.76. Annual is not 12 times monthly. Wyze's annual and two-year prices come from its store's product data. Reolink and aosu state no cloud plan price on the pages read.

Security compared: the six facts for the nine picks

# Model Records with no plan Person detection with no plan End-to-end by default Account 2FA Disclosure page Update period Cloud location (not scored)
1 Tapo D210 Yes, microSD up to 512GB Yes, free AI detection Not stated Yes (TP-Link) Yes, 200 Not stated Not stated
2 Tapo D225 Yes, microSD up to 512GB Yes, free AI detection Not stated Yes (TP-Link) Yes, 200 Not stated Not stated
3 aosu Video Doorbell Pro Yes, base included, SD to 128GB Yes, human body detection Not stated Not stated Yes, 200 5 years Not stated
4 Reolink Video Doorbell PoE Yes, microSD up to 256GB, NVR or hub Yes, Smart Detection at No Cost Not stated Yes (Reolink) Yes, 200 Not stated (UK only) Not stated
5 Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) Yes, microSD up to 512GB or hub Yes, people recognition Not stated Yes (Reolink) Yes, 200 Not stated (UK only) Not stated
6 eufy Video Doorbell E340 Yes, 8GB built in Yes, Human Detection AI No, optional Yes Yes, 200 Not stated AWS
7 eufy Video Doorbell S330 Yes, 8GB built in Yes, Human Detection AI No, optional Yes Yes, 200 Not stated AWS
8 Google Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) No; 6 hours of cloud previews only Yes, built-in person alerts Not stated Yes Yes, 200 To 10/1/2030 Not stated
9 Wyze Video Doorbell v2 Yes, microSD, card extra No, needs Cam Plus Not stated (AES 128-bit) Yes Yes, 200 Not stated AWS

"Not stated" means the pages read do not say it.

How to choose

Methodology: how the order is set

Each product gets one point for each of six facts, all from vendor pages read November 4, 2026: (1) video recorded with no paid plan, on microSD in the doorbell or on a chime, hub or base with storage included or priced; (2) person detection stated with no paid plan; (3) end-to-end encryption stated for video and on by default; (4) account two-factor login stated; (5) a disclosure page or bounty that returns HTTP 200; (6) a stated security-update period or support end date.

Order: score, high first; then the lower price, using the higher of the page and cart price for the product alone, with no code counted; then the wider stated field of view. Automatic cart discounts (eufy's $50 and $60, Reolink's $20) are named, not ranked on. The list has nine places. At most two numbered picks per brand; a brand's other models that pass are listed below the ranking with their score and price. Links never change the order.

Rule calls, applied to every brand:

  • A free cloud history is not local storage, so the Nest's 6 hours of previews score no point 1.
  • UK or EU update dates do not count for a US page: Reolink's PSTI page, Lorex's UK end-of-life page and Wyze's Europe terms table are left out.
  • microSD card prices are left out of every doorbell's cost; the table says which models include storage.
  • Where a vendor's wording could be read two ways, the stricter reading applies: aosu's "Without a Subscription" line on the SE sits on package detection, and the R1 Ultra page states no fee line, so neither gets a person-detection point.

The aosu and eufy sales end after November 7, so their sale prices rank; the Tapo and Reolink sales show no end date.

FAQ

Which video doorbells work without a subscription?

Eight of the nine record with no plan; only the Nest Doorbell (wired, 3rd gen) does not, and it keeps 6 hours of free cloud previews.

Do any of these use end-to-end encryption by default?

None of the nine. eufy offers it only as an option, per its privacy page.

Do I need a hub or chime to record locally?

The Pro's base is included, the E340 and S330 store on the doorbell, and both Tapos, both Reolinks and the Wyze v2 take a microSD card you buy.

Wired or battery: which should I buy?

Battery models such as the Tapo D210 suit doors with no doorbell wiring. The Reolink Battery Video Doorbell (2nd Gen) (opens Amazon; the price on Amazon may differ) runs on battery and can be topped up by doorbell wiring. The Reolink PoE needs Ethernet.

Are these prices final?

No. The aosu sales end November 14, 2026, the eufy sales about November 19, and the Tapo and Reolink sales show no end date. Codes are not counted.

What does a plan add?

Cloud history on Google, eufy and Tapo, and person alerts on Wyze; prices are in the cost table above.

Sources (read November 4, 2026)

Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Best Video Doorbell 2026: Which Ones Record Without a Subscription", November 2026.

Join the Cyberpresso newsletter at cyberpresso.com for daily security coverage.

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Cyberpresso: daily cyber & AI brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free