Review

Sophos Review

Sophos business endpoint, EDR and MDR: the 30-day trial, which tiers are quote-only, and three rivals whose prices are public.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 3 alternatives covered
TL;DR

Sophos earns a shortlist place for a business that wants endpoint protection with an optional managed SOC layer, but it cannot be budgeted from its website. On the US pages checked October 10, 2026, no business tier of Sophos Endpoint, EDR, XDR or MDR carries a dollar figure. The Endpoint trial is the no-cost way in, and the price comes from a quote.

That gap decides the buy. CrowdStrike publishes Falcon Pro at $99.99 per device a year, SentinelOne publishes Complete at $179.99 per endpoint a year, and Microsoft publishes Defender for Business at $3.00 per user a month. Ask Sophos for a written quote, then hold it against those three before it reaches a budget.

Key factsBest for: Businesses that want endpoint protection with an optional…
  • Updated: October 17, 2026
  • Best for: Businesses that want endpoint protection with an optional managed SOC and will wait for a quote.
  • Price as of October 17, 2026: Contact sales; 30-day free trial; no US list price published.
  • Ransomware rollback and a 30-day trial, with the price held back until a sales call.
  • Sophos Endpoint free trial: 30 days
  • CrowdStrike Falcon Go device cap: 100 devices
  • Microsoft Defender for Business user ceiling: 300 users
  • Alternatives covered: CrowdStrike Falcon, SentinelOne Singularity, Microsoft Defender for Business

Pros

  • CryptoGuard blocks the process that encrypts files, and Sophos lists ransomware rollback among its EDR responses.
  • The 30-day Endpoint trial comes with no contract, so a team can test on real machines before the sales call.
  • Sophos Endpoint covers Windows, macOS and Linux, and the page says it includes legacy platforms for critical systems.

Cons

  • No dollar figure appears for Endpoint, EDR, XDR or MDR on the US pages checked October 10, 2026, so no budget can be set in advance.
  • Sophos EDR does not state how long telemetry is kept, which leaves an incident investigation without a stated lookback window.
  • Sophos states no minimum seat count, so a small team cannot tell from the page whether it is too small to quote.
Sophos US list price, business endpointNone published
Sophos Endpoint free trial30 days
CrowdStrike Falcon Go device cap100 devices
Microsoft Defender for Business user ceiling300 users

Short answer: it is worth the call when you want a managed SOC layer from the same vendor, and it is not worth a budget line until the written quote is in hand. Sophos's US pages show no dollar price for any business tier of Endpoint, EDR, XDR or MDR, and they offer a 30-day trial of Endpoint with no contract.

This review reads the business pages only. It prices each Sophos business tier, runs CrowdStrike, SentinelOne and Defender for Business through one 10-employee scenario so a Sophos quote has a benchmark, and names what Sophos leaves out.

Sophos Home, the consumer product, is a separate license with its own checkout and is not priced here. For the wider field, read our business antivirus comparison and EDR guide.

Toolradar data: our antivirus guide ranks 8 products. It names Sophos only as Sophos Home Premium, the consumer plan, and it leaves out Microsoft Defender for Business and SentinelOne. A reader who lands there would price the wrong Sophos product.

Methodology: US pages for Sophos, CrowdStrike, SentinelOne and Microsoft, checked October 10, 2026. Every dollar figure on this page comes from those pages. Where a row says contact sales, the vendor published no figure, and none was estimated.

What is Sophos Endpoint?

Sophos sells its business security as products that build on each other. Sophos Endpoint is the agent. Sophos EDR adds detection and response on each device. Sophos XDR is listed as a separate business product with a trial link and no price, and Sophos MDR is the managed service that runs the stack for you.

Toolradar's own Sophos listing marks its Endpoint plan Custom, the same quote-only status found on Sophos's pages.

Endpoint is the part a small team buys first, and its feature list leans on ransomware. CryptoGuard watches file contents for malicious encryption and blocks the process doing it. Sophos says 60+ exploit mitigations run by default on every process, and Master Boot Record protection guards drives from ransomware that would leave a PC unbootable. That is a strong antivirus profile, and it is the part a small team can use on day one.

EDR is where the purchase starts to matter. Sophos lists AI-prioritized detections, MITRE ATT&CK mapping, automated ransomware rollback and network isolation, plus analyst-driven live response with audited shell access. The page states no retention period for the telemetry, which is the number an incident review will ask for first.

Our XDR platform comparison covers the wider estate.

MDR is the optional managed layer. Sophos calls it fully managed, 24/7 detection and response, and cites an average of 89 seconds from alert to automated response. Its stat block adds that AI resolves 52% of cases end to end, with analysts supervising the AI. Those are vendor claims, and a quote should put them in the contract.

How Sophos Endpoint works

You do not download a price list from Sophos. You request one. The how-to-buy page offers three routes: buy with AWS through AWS Marketplace, request a free no-obligation quote, or speak with a Sophos sales representative. A partner finder sits beside them, and the page does not say whether Endpoint is sold only through partners.

The page calls its pricing per-user with no hidden extras. It gives no amount per user and no minimum seat count, so a small team cannot tell from the page whether it is too small to quote.

How the price scales as EDR and MDR are added is a question for the quote, and our EDR cost breakdown shows how other vendors' per-endpoint prices stack up.

The trial is the no-cost way in. The Endpoint page offers a free, no-obligation 30-day trial, and the free-trials page says trials come with no contracts or upfront costs. That page gives no trial length or card requirement for any product, so ask before you start one on EDR, XDR or MDR.

Sophos Endpoint key features

No business price on the pages readEssential
Endpoint, EDR, XDR and MDR show a trial link, a quote form or a Get Pricing button, and no dollar figure. Sophos describes its pricing as per-user with no hidden extras, which is a claim without an amount.
CryptoGuard ransomware rollbackEssential
CryptoGuard blocks the process that encrypts files, and Sophos lists ransomware rollback as an automated response in EDR. The Endpoint page also lists boot-level protection for the Master Boot Record.
EDR with live response
AI-prioritized detections, MITRE ATT&CK mapping and live response with audited shell access. The EDR page states no retention period, so ask for the telemetry window in the quote.
MDR as an optional 24/7 service
Sophos calls MDR an optional add-on for 24/7 monitoring and cites 89 seconds from alert to automated response. The price sits behind a Get Pricing form, separate from Endpoint.
30-day Endpoint trial
Sophos offers a free, no-obligation 30-day trial of Sophos Endpoint with no contracts or upfront costs. Trial length for EDR, XDR and MDR is not stated on the trial page.
Generative AI controls in EndpointEssential
Sophos Endpoint shows which AI services staff use and controls access to them. For a company that has not set a generative AI policy, that is a control to ask about in the trial.

Sophos Endpoint pricing

Sophos publishes no US dollar price for its business tiers, so the only number to test is the written quote. On October 10, 2026 the Endpoint pages offered a trial link, a quote form and a Buy with AWS button. The MDR page sends buyers to a Get Pricing form, and the EDR page sends them to a sales expert.

For a like-for-like test, this page uses one scenario: 10 employees, one device each, billed yearly. CrowdStrike Falcon Go comes to 10 x $59.99 = $599.90 a year, Falcon Pro to 10 x $99.99 = $999.90, and SentinelOne Complete to 10 x $179.99 = $1,799.90.

Defender for Business comes to 10 x $3.00 x 12 = $360 a year.

Monthly billing on Falcon Go costs more. At $7.99 per device a month, the same 10 devices come to $958.80 a year, about 60% more than the annual rate. Sophos prices per user, so ask the quote for the figure per user and the figure per device, then set both beside those four annual totals.

Hidden costs sit in the gaps. The MDR layer is a second quote, the EDR telemetry window is unstated, and no seat minimum is published. An Endpoint quote can grow once MDR and EDR are added, so price the bundle you will run, not the first line.

PlanPriceBest for
Sophos EndpointContact sales30-day free trial; per-user pricing with no amount published
Sophos EDRContact salesAI detections and live response; data retention not stated
Sophos XDRContact salesListed as a business product with a trial link; no figure
Sophos MDRContact salesOptional 24/7 managed service; sold through a Get Pricing form
CrowdStrike Falcon Go, annual$59.99/device/yrBilled annually; capped at 100 devices; 15-day trial, no card
CrowdStrike Falcon Go, monthly$7.99/device/moSame plan billed monthly; 10 devices come to $958.80 a year
CrowdStrike Falcon Pro, annual$99.99/device/yrBilled annually; monthly billing is $14.99 per device
CrowdStrike Falcon Enterprise, annual$184.99/device/yrBilled annually; monthly billing is $19.99 per device
CrowdStrike Falcon CompleteContact salesQuote-only tier on CrowdStrike's US pricing page
SentinelOne Singularity Complete$179.99/endpoint/yr14-day telemetry retention; price shown for 5 to 100 workstations
SentinelOne Singularity Commercial$229.99/endpoint/yr90-day retention; adds identity detection and managed threat hunting
Microsoft Defender for Business$3.00/user/moPaid yearly; up to 300 users, five devices each, no minimum device count

Sophos Endpoint pros and cons

What we like

  • CryptoGuard blocks the process that encrypts files, and Sophos lists ransomware rollback among its EDR responses.
  • The 30-day Endpoint trial comes with no contract, so a team can test on real machines before the sales call.
  • Sophos Endpoint covers Windows, macOS and Linux, and the page says it includes legacy platforms for critical systems.

What could be better

  • No dollar figure appears for Endpoint, EDR, XDR or MDR on the US pages checked October 10, 2026, so no budget can be set in advance.
  • Sophos EDR does not state how long telemetry is kept, which leaves an incident investigation without a stated lookback window.
  • Sophos states no minimum seat count, so a small team cannot tell from the page whether it is too small to quote.

Who Sophos Endpoint is for

Sophos fits a business that wants one vendor for the agent and an optional managed SOC, and that accepts a sales call before any number appears. A company with an analyst already on staff has less reason to buy MDR.

A company without an overnight response team has the clearest case for it, because Sophos says MDR runs 24/7. Read our MDR shortlist before you set the scope.

Start with Endpoint on a few machines under the trial, and add EDR or MDR only after the quote shows what each line costs. Skip Sophos when the approval form needs a dollar figure before the call. Defender for Business is the lowest published line on this page, and a company that already runs Microsoft 365 has a short path to it.

For a second vendor on the same shortlist, read our Bitdefender review.

Best Sophos Endpoint alternatives

If Sophos Endpoint is not the right fit, these are the closest options.

ToolBest forStarts at
Sophos EndpointBusinesses that want endpoint protection with an optional managed SOC and will wait for a quote.Contact salesVisit →
CrowdStrike FalconTeams that want a published device price and a trial that needs no card.Falcon Go $59.99/device/yr billed annuallyVisit →
SentinelOne SingularityBuyers who want public annual endpoint prices and 90 days of retention on the higher tier.Complete $179.99/endpoint/yrVisit →
Microsoft Defender for BusinessCompanies under 300 users that want the cheapest published endpoint price on this page.$3.00/user/mo, paid yearlyVisit →
CrowdStrike Falcon
Public prices for three tiers, with Falcon Complete as the only quote-only plan.
Visit →
SentinelOne Singularity
Two published endpoint prices; partner pricing overrides the page where the two differ.
Visit →
Microsoft Defender for Business
A per-user price covering up to five devices each, and the lowest published figure in this comparison.
Visit →

The bottom line

Shortlist Sophos when the managed layer matters and the quote can wait. Test Endpoint on a few machines under the 30-day trial, then request one quote covering Endpoint and MDR, and ask for the figure per user and per device.

Hold that quote against CrowdStrike Falcon Pro, SentinelOne Complete and Defender for Business before any budget line.

The CrowdStrike review, the SentinelOne review and the Defender for Business review carry the longer case for each.

The CrowdStrike alternatives page covers the wider shortlist if the first three do not fit.

Sophos is not the wrong buy by default. It is the wrong buy when a budget owner needs a number before the call, and when the EDR telemetry window must be stated in writing before signature.

Subscribe free to Cyberpresso for the next license note.

Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Sophos Review 2026", October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Is Sophos worth it in 2026?

It is worth a shortlist place for a business that wants endpoint protection with an optional managed SOC layer, and not worth a budget line until a written quote is in hand. Sophos publishes no US dollar price for its business tiers on the pages checked October 10, 2026, and the 30-day Endpoint trial is the no-cost way to test the product.

How much does Sophos Endpoint cost?

Sophos does not publish a US list price for Endpoint, so the cost comes from a quote. The page gives no amount per user and no minimum seat count. To benchmark, CrowdStrike Falcon Pro is $99.99 per device a year and Defender for Business is $3.00 per user a month, both on their own pricing pages.

Is there a free Sophos business product?

Sophos offers a free, no-obligation 30-day trial of Sophos Endpoint, with no contracts or upfront costs. The trial page gives no trial length or card requirement for EDR, XDR or MDR, so ask before starting one. Sophos Home, the consumer product, is a separate license and is not covered here.

Is Sophos or CrowdStrike cheaper?

Sophos publishes no price, so nothing public settles the comparison, and CrowdStrike is the only one of the two you can budget from today. Falcon Go costs $59.99 per device a year, billed annually, and stops at 100 devices. Sophos may still come in lower on a quote, so compare its written per-device figure with CrowdStrike's per-device rate before you decide. The CrowdStrike review has the full tier breakdown.

Does Sophos MDR cost extra?

Sophos describes MDR as an optional add-on for 24/7 monitoring, and its pricing sits behind a Get Pricing form that shows no figure. Expect it as a separate quote from Endpoint or EDR. Ask the quote to state the service tier and response mode, and to say what the 89-second automated response figure covers.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the Cyberpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free