Huntress Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives
What the managed SOC costs per endpoint in US dollars, what the purchase route changes, and how five rivals price, checked October 2026.
Huntress is worth it for a small or mid-size business that wants a staffed 24/7 SOC inside a published per-endpoint rate, as long as it has at least 50 endpoints or buys through a managed service provider. Managed EDR lists at $8.99 per endpoint a month, on a 12-month term with no setup fee. Prices were checked on Huntress's pricing page on 10 October 2026, in US dollars.
The catch is the route to buy. Direct and reseller purchases need a 50-seat minimum per product, and a direct buyer runs deployment and incident follow-up. Huntress sells four more per-unit services next to the endpoint product, so the endpoint rate is rarely the whole bill. Buy Huntress for the SOC, not for the agent.
Key factsBest for: Small and mid-size businesses and MSPs that want a staffed…
- The only managed service in this group that publishes a per-unit rate, with the 24/7 SOC included.
- Monthly bill at 100 endpoints (example): $799 a month, $9,588 a year
- Free trial: Yes, no commitment, length not stated
- Standard term: 12 months, no multi-year price lock
- Alternatives covered: CrowdStrike Falcon, SentinelOne Singularity, Microsoft Defender for Business, Sophos MDR, Arctic Wolf MDR
Pros
- Published per-unit rates with the 24/7 SOC included, and no setup or onboarding fees.
- Runs beside an existing antivirus, including Microsoft Defender, with managed Defender antivirus at no extra cost.
- The free trial is the full product, SOC included, with no commitment.
Cons
- Direct buyers need 50 seats per product and run deployment, portal management and integrations themselves.
- No multi-year price protection, and usage above the committed minimum is billed by hand.
- Each product is priced per unit on its own, so endpoints, identities, log sources and learners add up on separate lines.
Huntress sells managed security, which means its analysts watch the alerts and do much of the response work instead of your IT team. This review asks whether that service is worth the per-unit price, and it uses only the prices and terms Huntress publishes.
Two things decide most of the answer: how many endpoints you run, and whether you buy direct or through a managed service provider.
Huntress is one of the few managed services in this category that prints a unit price at all.
That makes it easy to budget, and easy to compare with rivals that answer only with a quote. Toolradar data: 16% of the security monitoring tools on Toolradar are free, freemium or open source (October 2026), and Huntress is one of nine paid-only tools in our top 10 picks.
The Huntress listing on Toolradar carries the same product, and our EDR ranking places it in the wider field.
What is Huntress?
Huntress is a managed security company that sells five priced services: Managed EDR for endpoints, Managed ITDR for Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace identities and email, Managed SIEM for log collection, Managed Security Awareness Training, and Managed ISPM, which hardens Microsoft 365 tenants.
Its pricing page also lists Managed ESPM in the navigation without a price, so this review does not budget it. The company says it was founded by former NSA cyber operators.
Managed EDR carries most buying decisions, so most of this review centers on it.
Huntress says its agent runs alongside an existing antivirus, Microsoft Defender included, and that Windows, macOS and Linux each get a native agent. The 24/7 team is the product. Huntress describes Athena Engine as an agentic AI that investigates every alert alongside its SOC analysts, and says a human reviews each alert before it reaches the customer.
You are paying for that review, not only for the software. Huntress also says every product is fully managed by its 24/7 human SOC, with no add-ons or service tiers.
If you want the training product compared, the security awareness training ranking covers the paid programs, and our free training limits page shows what the cheapest tiers leave out.
How Huntress works
Deployment is the first thing to plan. Huntress says the EDR agent deploys in under 20 minutes without rip-and-replace, and its pricing FAQ says an IT admin can usually deploy the whole platform in under an hour. Both are vendor claims, so run a pilot on a handful of machines before you commit a fleet.
Setup is light, but the work after an alert is not.
Once the agent runs, the SOC investigates each alert, contains the threat, removes the attacker's foothold and sends plain-English guidance, according to the Managed EDR page.
That is the service the rate buys. What stays with you depends on how you buy. An MSP handles rollout, alerts and tuning. A direct buyer takes on deployment, portal management, responses to SOC incident reports and integrations, which is a real workload for a team of two.
A reseller customer handles deployment and acts on what the SOC sends over. For how Huntress stacks up against other managed services, see our MDR services ranking.
Huntress key features
Huntress pricing
Huntress prices each product per unit and prints the list rate (MSRP) next to an example at 100 units. Managed EDR lists at $8.99 per endpoint a month, and the 100-endpoint example is $7.99. Managed ITDR lists at $4.80 per identity and $3.60 at 100.
Managed SIEM lists at $4.00 per data source and $3.50 at 100. Managed SAT lists at $2.08 per learner and $1.75 at 100. Managed ISPM lists at $4.00 per identity and $3.40 at 100. The page says per-unit rates fall as volume rises, so the 100-unit example is a reference point, not the rate you should expect.
Two figures turn the rate into a budget.
The pricing page prints one example, at 100 units, so the 50-endpoint line is our multiplication of the list rate. At the list rate, 50 endpoints come to $449.50 a month, or $5,394 across the standard 12-month term, which is the smallest direct bill for Managed EDR alone.
At the 100-endpoint example, the bill is $799 a month, or $9,588 over 12 months. The same 100 endpoints on SentinelOne Singularity Complete come to $17,999 a year before any managed service, close to twice the Huntress figure.
That price buys the agent only, and the analysts you would staff to watch it are extra, as our CrowdStrike alternatives page explains.
The contract matters as much as the rate.
The standard term is 12 months, and Huntress offers no multi-year price protection, so nothing locks the rate past the first term. MSP purchases bill monthly in arrears on deployed usage, with no Huntress-required seat minimum.
Direct customers choose monthly billing on deployed usage, or an annual payment for the committed minimum with monthly billing for overages. Reseller purchases bill annually. Huntress says overages are processed manually rather than billed automatically, even on the annual direct option, which bills them monthly.
It also charges no separate setup or onboarding fees.
The page also says the per-unit rate covers the 24/7 SOC but not deployment, integration, or the daily operations and portal management that partners provide.
Budget that gap before you sign, because it is where a small team's hours go.
Methodology. We read Huntress's pricing and product pages, and the pricing or product pages of the five rivals in this review, on 10 October 2026.
Year totals are our multiplication of the published rate, and we did not buy or deploy any of these products.
Sources: Huntress pricing, Huntress Managed EDR, CrowdStrike pricing, SentinelOne packages, Microsoft Defender for Business, Sophos MDR and Arctic Wolf MDR FAQ.
| Plan | Price | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Huntress Managed EDR, list | $8.99/endpoint/mo | MSRP; 24/7 SOC and managed antivirus included |
| Huntress Managed EDR, 100 endpoints | $7.99/endpoint/mo | Published example; the rate falls as volume rises |
| Huntress Managed ITDR, 100 identities | $3.60/identity/mo | Microsoft 365 and Google Workspace identity and email |
| Huntress Managed SIEM, 100 sources | $3.50/source/mo | Pooled storage, extended retention, no overage charges |
| Huntress Managed SAT, 100 learners | $1.75/learner/mo | Managed training and phishing simulation |
| Huntress Managed ISPM, 100 identities | $3.40/identity/mo | Microsoft 365 hardening with drift remediation |
| Huntress free trial | Free trial | Full product with 24/7 SOC; length not stated |
| Huntress direct or reseller | Custom | 50-seat minimum per product; 12-month term |
| Huntress through an MSP | Custom | No Huntress-required seat minimum; billed monthly in arrears |
| CrowdStrike Falcon Go | $59.99/device/yr | Self-run tier; annual price, monthly billing also offered; purchases capped at 100 devices |
| CrowdStrike Falcon Enterprise | $184.99/device/yr | Self-run advanced tier; annual price, monthly billing also offered; add-on modules cost extra |
| CrowdStrike Falcon Complete (MDR) | Contact sales | 24/7 managed detection and response, sold by quote |
| SentinelOne Singularity Complete | $179.99/endpoint/yr | Annual price; 14 days of data retention |
| SentinelOne Singularity Commercial | $229.99/endpoint/yr | Adds identity detection, 90-day retention and managed threat hunting |
| Microsoft Defender for Business | $3.00/user/mo, billed yearly | Up to 300 users, five devices per user |
| Sophos MDR | Contact sales | Service tiers and response modes scoped in a sales conversation |
| Arctic Wolf MDR | Contact sales | Priced on users, servers and internet egress points |
Huntress pros and cons
What we like
- Published per-unit rates with the 24/7 SOC included, and no setup or onboarding fees.
- Runs beside an existing antivirus, including Microsoft Defender, with managed Defender antivirus at no extra cost.
- The free trial is the full product, SOC included, with no commitment.
What could be better
- Direct buyers need 50 seats per product and run deployment, portal management and integrations themselves.
- No multi-year price protection, and usage above the committed minimum is billed by hand.
- Each product is priced per unit on its own, so endpoints, identities, log sources and learners add up on separate lines.
Who Huntress is for
Huntress fits a company with 50 or more endpoints that wants a staffed SOC and has no security team to staff one, or an MSP that will run the service for its clients. A 40-person office on Microsoft 365 with no security hire can still buy the same service through an MSP, which has no seat minimum.
If you only need an agent, see our business antivirus ranking before you pay for a SOC you may not use.
Skip Huntress when you need a self-run console with your own analysts on call, or when you want a price fixed past the first year, because Huntress will not hold one.
Skip it for an agent-only job too. Microsoft Defender for Business costs $3.00 per user a month for up to 300 users, which is the cheaper unit for a Microsoft 365 office.
The split is simple: buy the SOC from Huntress, and buy the agent from Microsoft if the SOC is not needed.
Best Huntress alternatives
If Huntress is not the right fit, these are the closest options.
| Tool | Best for | Starts at | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Huntress | Small and mid-size businesses and MSPs that want a staffed 24/7 SOC inside a published per-unit rate. | $7.99 per endpoint a month at 100 endpoints (the list rate is higher) | Visit → |
| CrowdStrike Falcon | Enterprise-minded teams that want CrowdStrike's platform and will take a quote for managed response. | Falcon Complete MDR is quote-only | Visit → |
| SentinelOne Singularity | Teams that want autonomous endpoint response and will run it in-house or quote a managed service separately. | Singularity Complete is $179.99 per endpoint a year | Visit → |
| Microsoft Defender for Business | Microsoft 365 offices with up to 300 users that want native protection and no managed SOC. | $3.00 per user a month, billed yearly, for up to 300 users | Visit → |
| Sophos MDR | Mid-market teams that want a named MDR provider with incident response included and will accept a scoping call. | No list price | Visit → |
| Arctic Wolf MDR | Mid-size firms that want a managed SOC on one vendor platform and will buy after a demo. | No list price | Visit → |
The bottom line
Huntress is the only managed service in this comparison with a published unit price, which makes it the right first quote for a team that needs a 24/7 SOC and will accept a 12-month term. The rate is the easy part to check.
The purchase route, the separate per-unit products and the absence of multi-year price protection are where budgets slip, so price all four products and both routes before you sign.
Pick Microsoft Defender for Business when you want the agent without a SOC and your tenant has up to 300 users.
Pick CrowdStrike or SentinelOne when you have analysts and want to run the platform yourself. Take Sophos or Arctic Wolf only with a written quote in hand, since neither publishes a figure.
For a company with no security team, Huntress is the one to price first, because the SOC shows up as a line on a rate card rather than behind a sales call.
Toolradar also lists CrowdStrike and SentinelOne, and the vendor pricing pages behind this review were read on 10 October 2026.
Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Huntress Review 2026: Pricing, Pros, Cons and Alternatives," October 2026.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Huntress cost?
Is Huntress worth it?
Does Huntress have a free plan?
Why does Huntress require 50 seats?
What are the best Huntress alternatives?
Sources
Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.
- CrowdStrike Falcon pricingchecked Sep 2026
- SentinelOne Singularity pricingchecked Sep 2026
Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.
Get the Cyberpresso brief
Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.
Subscribe free