Expert Guide

The Best Free Vulnerability Scanners in 2026

Eight scanners checked for free-tier limits, commercial-use terms and the paid benchmark for a team with 50 external IPs.

Product links may be affiliate links. How we rate 8 tools compared
TL;DR

For web apps, OWASP ZAP is the free pick, and for network scans Greenbone OpenVAS Free is the free pick if your team can host and run it. Nessus Essentials is free, but Tenable limits it to non-commercial use and 5 IPs. A company with 50 external IPs that cannot run a self-hosted scanner pays for Nessus Professional at $4,790 a year. Every price and limit here comes from the vendor's own page, read on 10 October 2026.

Key facts8 tools compared: Greenbone OpenVAS Free, OWASP ZAP, Wazuh, Nuclei, Intruder (free plan)…
  • Updated: October 10, 2026
  • Top pick: Greenbone OpenVAS Free (best for: Teams with Linux skills that will run a network scanner over 50 IPs and accept the setup work)
  • Top pick price as of October 10, 2026: Greenbone OpenVAS Free: Free of charge; the paid OPENVAS BASIC plan is listed at 2,524 EUR a year, not converted
  • 8 tools compared: Greenbone OpenVAS Free, OWASP ZAP, Wazuh, Nuclei, Intruder (free plan), Qualys Community Edition, Nessus Essentials, Nessus Professional
  • OWASP ZAP (best for: Teams that need to test their 3 web apps and can run a scanner themselves): Free and open source, per the project's own site; the real cost is staff time to run it
  • Wazuh (best for: Teams that want vulnerability detection tied to host monitoring and can host the server): Available at no cost per the vendor's site; cloud pricing is not published
  • Nuclei (best for: Security engineers who want template-based checks they can version and script): Open source, listed among ProjectDiscovery's open-source tools; no license fee is stated

Cyberpresso data: Toolradar evaluated 18 vulnerability scanning tools for its ranking, updated October 2026. Free scanners look free on the landing page, and the fine print decides the bill.

That fine print sits in three places: how many IPs or apps the free tier covers, whether a company may use it, and how much of the work your team does itself. We read those three on each vendor page where the page states them, on 10 October 2026.

We priced the options for a commercial team with 50 external IPs and 3 web apps over one year. Our penetration testing guide covers the testing side of the same budget.

How we ranked: most of these tools cost nothing to license, so the order follows scope.

A free option moves up when its free plan covers more of the 50 IPs and 3 apps, and when a company may use it. Nessus Professional, the paid benchmark, sets the cost of the scenario.

Top Picks

Based on features, real-world fit, and value for money.

Best Free Vulnerability Scanners in 2026: What Each Free Tier Covers: 8 tools compared, updated Oct 2026
ToolPricingBest for
Greenbone OpenVAS FreeFree of charge; the paid OPENVAS BASIC plan is listed at 2,524 EUR a year, not convertedTeams with Linux skills that will run a network scanner over 50 IPs and accept the setup work
OWASP ZAPFree and open source, per the project's own site; the real cost is staff time to run itTeams that need to test their 3 web apps and can run a scanner themselves
WazuhAvailable at no cost per the vendor's site; cloud pricing is not publishedTeams that want vulnerability detection tied to host monitoring and can host the server
NucleiOpen source, listed among ProjectDiscovery's open-source tools; no license fee is statedSecurity engineers who want template-based checks they can version and script
Intruder (free plan)Free plan covers 5 web apps; Cloud and Pro add a base fee plus a per-target fee, with no USD price statedSmall teams that want a hosted scanner for a few web apps before they pay for more scope
Qualys Community EditionNamed as a free Community Edition; no asset cap or license term is publishedTeams that want to trial a hosted scanner before they consider a paid Qualys plan
Nessus EssentialsFree for non-commercial use only: up to 5 IPs on a 30-day free license; Essentials Plus is $199 a year for 20 IPsStudents, hobbyists and home labs with 5 or fewer IPs
Nessus Professional$4,790 for a one-year license, the price line Tenable shows; no IP cap statedCompanies that need a licensed Nessus scanner for the full IP range, and the paid benchmark in this ranking

Pricing read from each vendor's own published pricing page, checked Oct 2026. Every vendor here publishes a price.

Best for: Teams with Linux skills that will run a network scanner over 50 IPs and accept the setup work

PricingFree of charge; the paid OPENVAS BASIC plan is listed at 2,524 EUR a year, not converted

+Free of charge on Greenbone's own page, with no IP cap stated
+Covers the network side of the scenario, not only the web apps
+Greenbone lists its paid Basic plan on the same page, so the next step is visible up front
−API access, automatic scan initialization and automatic alert integration are missing from the free edition
−Hosting, updates and tuning fall to your team, and no commercial-use license terms are stated
Visit Greenbone OpenVAS Free →

Best for: Teams that need to test their 3 web apps and can run a scanner themselves

PricingFree and open source, per the project's own site; the real cost is staff time to run it

+Described on its own site as free and open source
+Covers the 3 web apps in the scenario with no license fee
+Pairs well with a network scanner that handles the IP range
−Web applications only, so the 50 IPs need a different tool
−The license name and commercial-use terms are not stated, so confirm them before a rollout
Visit OWASP ZAP →
3

Best for: Teams that want vulnerability detection tied to host monitoring and can host the server

PricingAvailable at no cost per the vendor's site; cloud pricing is not published

+The vendor states it is available at no cost
+Vulnerability detection is listed as a use case on its site
+No per-IP cap is stated
−You host the server, the agents and the updates yourself
−Cloud pricing is not published, so a managed upgrade cannot be priced here
Visit Wazuh →
4

Best for: Security engineers who want template-based checks they can version and script

PricingOpen source, listed among ProjectDiscovery's open-source tools; no license fee is stated

+Listed as open source by its maker
+Templates can be written and version-controlled for your own checks
+No scan limit is stated
−No managed dashboard or scheduling, so your team builds the workflow
−Coverage depends on the templates you run and keep updated
Visit Nuclei →

Best for: Small teams that want a hosted scanner for a few web apps before they pay for more scope

PricingFree plan covers 5 web apps; Cloud and Pro add a base fee plus a per-target fee, with no USD price stated

+Scanning is hosted, so there is no server to run
+The free plan covers the 3 web apps in the scenario
+The pricing model is stated openly as a base fee plus a per-target fee
−The free plan caps at 5 web apps, and the 50 IPs fall outside it
−No USD figure is stated for Cloud or Pro
Visit Intruder (free plan) →

Best for: Teams that want to trial a hosted scanner before they consider a paid Qualys plan

PricingNamed as a free Community Edition; no asset cap or license term is published

+Named as free on Qualys's own site
+A trial route to a hosted scanner if the team wants one later
−No asset cap or scan scope is published, so the free scope cannot be confirmed
−Commercial-use terms for the community edition are not stated
Visit Qualys Community Edition →

Best for: Students, hobbyists and home labs with 5 or fewer IPs

PricingFree for non-commercial use only: up to 5 IPs on a 30-day free license; Essentials Plus is $199 a year for 20 IPs

+The Nessus scan engine from Tenable, with a free route to try it
+Free for personal, educational and non-commercial users, per Tenable
−Tenable states it is strictly for non-commercial use and not engineered for enterprise or production environments
−The 5-IP cap covers 10% of the 50-IP scenario
Visit Nessus Essentials →

Best for: Companies that need a licensed Nessus scanner for the full IP range, and the paid benchmark in this ranking

Pricing$4,790 for a one-year license, the price line Tenable shows; no IP cap stated

+Commercial use is allowed, unlike Essentials
+The price is shown on Tenable's own page, so the budget line can be checked there
−No IP cap is stated for Professional, so confirm the scope with Tenable before buying
−A one-year license means the budget line repeats every year
Visit Nessus Professional →

What it is

A vulnerability scanner probes systems, web applications or networks for known flaws and misconfigurations, then reports each one with a severity. A free scanner is either an open-source tool with no license fee or the free tier of a commercial product.

The free part almost always carries a limit: a cap on IPs or apps, a bar on commercial use, or features held back for paid plans. The license is free. The time to run, tune and act on the output is not. For the wider category, see our SIEM tools guide.

Free scanners fall into two groups.

Network scanners look for flaws on hosts and services, which is what 50 IPs need. Web application scanners test a site from the outside, which is what the 3 apps need. A team with both kinds of asset usually needs one of each, so this page ranks tools by the scope they cover, not by one shared list.

Why it matters

A free tool that covers the wrong scope costs more than the paid one. A free tier capped at 5 IPs leaves 45 of 50 IPs to another tool, a second process or nobody. The bill that does not appear in a price table is staff time: setup, scheduled runs, patching the scanner itself and triaging the findings.

A security lead should put that time next to any license quote before calling a tool free. The same staff-time question runs through our SIEM cost guide.

Commercial-use terms matter for the same reason. A license that forbids company use turns a free install into a compliance problem.

Key features to look for

Free-tier scope
How many IPs, apps or hosts the free plan covers. Nessus Essentials stops at 5 IPs, which is 10% of the 50-IP scenario. Intruder's free plan covers 5 web apps, enough for the 3 in the scenario.
Commercial-use terms
Whether a company may run the free tier. Tenable states that Nessus Essentials is strictly for non-commercial use. Commercial-use terms are not stated for OWASP ZAP or OpenVAS Free, so read those licenses before a rollout.
Self-hosting work
Open-source tools cost nothing to license but need a server, updates and tuning. Greenbone's comparison table also leaves API access and automatic scan initialization out of the free edition.
Scan type
Network scanners find flaws on IPs and services. Web application scanners test the apps. Nmap finds hosts and open ports but is not a vulnerability scanner on its own.

Pricing

Every price here was checked on the vendor's own page on 10 October 2026. Tenable lists Nessus Professional as a one-year license on its Nessus page. For the scenario, the cost is one license for one year, the Professional line in the pricing table.

No IP cap is stated for Professional, so the figure assumes one license covers all 50 IPs. Confirm that with Tenable before buying.

Essentials Plus is $199 a year for 20 IPs, and Tenable says both Essentials tiers are for non-commercial use.

Greenbone lists its paid OPENVAS BASIC plan at 2,524 EUR a year on its community page.

We did not convert euros, so that plan sits outside the dollar ranking. OWASP ZAP, Wazuh and Nuclei show no license fee, so their cost at the scenario is staff time, which this table does not price.

PlanPriceBest for
Greenbone OpenVAS FreeFreeSelf-hosted network scanner; API access and automatic scan setup are not in the free edition
Greenbone OPENVAS BASIC2,524 EUR a yearPaid Greenbone plan priced in euros, not converted here
OWASP ZAPFreeOpen-source web application scanner for the 3 apps in the scenario
WazuhFreeOpen-source platform with vulnerability detection; your team hosts the server
NucleiFreeOpen-source template scanner; the workflow and scheduling are yours
Intruder free planFree5 web apps with weekly external scans
Intruder Cloud or ProNo USD price statedA base fee plus a per-target fee, so the 50 IPs are billed per target
Qualys Community EditionFreeNamed as free; no asset cap or license terms published
Nessus EssentialsFreeNon-commercial use only, up to 5 IPs, on a 30-day free license
Nessus Essentials Plus$199 a year20 IPs, also non-commercial use only, per Tenable
Nessus Professional$4,790 a yearCompany use, the paid benchmark; no IP cap stated
Mistakes to avoid
×Reading "free" as "free for us". Nessus Essentials is free only for personal, educational and non-commercial use, and Tenable says so on the same page. A company that installs it has taken on a license problem, not a bargain.
×Overlooking how far the cap reaches. A free tier capped at 5 IPs covers 10% of a 50-IP scope. The rest goes unscanned or moves to another tool, and that cost never shows up in a license table. For the triage side, see our <a href="/reviews/best-ai-for-vulnerability-management">AI for vulnerability management guide</a>.
×Forgetting the staff hours. Open-source scanners cost nothing to license, but setup, scheduled runs, patching and triage all take analyst time. Put that time next to the Professional license price before choosing the free option.
Expert tips
→Split the scope. Use OWASP ZAP for the web apps and a network scanner for the IPs, rather than forcing one free tier to cover both.
→Find your hosts first. Nmap is free and open source according to nmap.org, and it finds live hosts and open ports, which gives you the target list for a scanner. It is not a vulnerability scanner on its own, so pair it with one. For monitoring, see our <a href="/reviews/best-network-security-monitoring-tools">network security monitoring tools guide</a>.
→Check commercial-use terms before rollout. Tenable is explicit about Essentials. Commercial terms are not stated for OWASP ZAP or OpenVAS Free, so read each license before a company deploys either. Our <a href="/reviews/best-free-antivirus">free antivirus guide</a> follows the same free-tier logic for endpoints.
→Re-check free limits at purchase. Free tiers change faster than the products behind them. The figures on this page are dated 10 October 2026, and the Nessus cap is the first one to confirm. For the full paid shortlist, see our <a href="/reviews/best-vulnerability-scanners">best vulnerability scanners guide</a>.

The bottom line

For a commercial team with 50 external IPs and 3 web apps, OWASP ZAP covers the apps at no license cost, and Greenbone OpenVAS Free can cover the network if your staff will run it and its license allows company use.

Nessus Essentials is free, but it is not a company tool. If the team cannot take on a self-hosted scanner, the paid option is Nessus Professional.

Toolradar's profiles for OWASP ZAP, Wazuh and Nessus carry the tool-level detail.

Read our Tenable review before you decide on Nessus.

Cite this: Cyberpresso, "Best Free Vulnerability Scanners in 2026", checked 10 October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best free vulnerability scanner in 2026?
For a company, OWASP ZAP is the best free option for web apps, and Greenbone OpenVAS Free is the best free option for network scans if your team can host and run it. Nessus Essentials is free but only for non-commercial use, so it is not a company option.
Is there a free vulnerability scanner for 50 IP addresses?
No free option on this list is confirmed for company use at 50 IPs. Nessus Essentials caps at 5 IPs and is non-commercial. Neither OpenVAS Free nor Wazuh states an IP cap, but you host and run both yourself.
How much does Nessus Professional cost?
Tenable lists a one-year Nessus Professional license at $4,790. No IP cap is stated for Professional, so confirm the scope with Tenable before buying.
Is Nessus Essentials free for companies?
No. Tenable says Essentials is strictly for non-commercial use, caps scans at 5 IPs and runs on a 30-day free license. Essentials Plus is also non-commercial and costs $199 a year for 20 IPs.
Can OWASP ZAP scan network ranges?
ZAP describes itself as a web application scanner, so it covers the 3 apps in this scenario but not the 50 IPs. Pair it with a network scanner, and use a host discovery tool such as Nmap to build the target list.
What does a free scanner really cost?
The license is free for ZAP, Nuclei, Wazuh and OpenVAS Free. Staff time to host, tune, schedule and triage appears in no vendor price, so the pricing table covers licenses only.

Sources

Prices and plan details come from each vendor's own pricing page, re-checked by the Toolradar pricing tracker.

Related guides

Some offers on this page may be paid placements or contain affiliate links.

Get the Cyberpresso brief

Free daily newsletter, read in 5 minutes.

Subscribe free